Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

Electrical characterization of surface properties of the ATLAS17LS sensors after neutron, proton and gamma irradiation

Dec 17, 2019, 12:20 PM
Sun: B1F-Meeting rooms#4-6; Mon-Wed: B2F-RAN (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

Sun: B1F-Meeting rooms#4-6; Mon-Wed: B2F-RAN

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
ORAL Radiation damage and radiation tolerant materials Session8


Marcela Mikestikova (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ))


The high luminosity upgrade of the Large Hadron Collider, foreseen for 2026, requires the replacement of the ATLAS Inner Detector with a new all-silicon Inner Tracker (ITk). After an integrated luminosity of 4000 fb−1 the ITk Strip Detector will have been exposed to a large radiation fluence, corresponding to a 1 MeV neutron equivalent fluence of up to Φeq = 1.6×1015 cm−2, and an ionising dose of = 66 Mrad, including the safety factor of 1.5. A radiation hard n+-in-p micro-strip sensor for the use in the ITk has been developed by the ATLAS ITk Strip Sensor collaboration and produced by Hamamatsu Photonics. In this talk, the results obtained from the electrical characterization of the latest barrel ATLAS17LS sensor prototype before and after irradiation will be shown.
Surface properties of the barrel long strip full-sized and miniature sensors have been studied before and after proton, neutron and gamma irradiation up to the maximal fluences and radiation doses specified for ITk Strip Tracker. Sensors have been irradiated by protons at CYRIC, Tohoku University (Japan) and at CERN IRRAD proton irradiation facility, by neutrons from Ljubljana TRIGA reactor (Slovenia) and by gamma rays from 60Co source in UJP Praha (Czech Republic).
It has been verified, that the surface radiation damage does not influence the sensor stability. The breakdown voltage is well above the maximum operational voltage. All the tested surface parameters, such as the interstrip resistance and capacitance, coupling capacitance and bias resistance satisfy the ATLAS ITk specifications for strip sensors.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished

Primary author

Marcela Mikestikova (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ))


Syed Haider Abidi (University of Toronto (CA)) Tony Affolder (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Philip Patrick Allport (University of Birmingham (UK)) Matthew Basso (University of Toronto (CA)) Albert Francis Casha (University of Toronto (CA)) Vladimir Cindro (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Bianca Monica Ciungu (University of Toronto (CA)) Karola Dette (University of Toronto (CA)) Sparshita Dey (University of Oxford) Zdenek Dolezal (Charles University (CZ)) Denis Dudas (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Vitaliy Fadeyev (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Celeste Fleta (Instituto de Microelectrónica de Barcelona, Centro Nacional de Microelectrónica (ES)) Laura Gonella (University of Birmingham (UK)) Dag Gillberg (Carleton University) Jane Frances Gunnell Kazuhiko Hara (University of Tsukuba (JP)) Cole Helling (UC Santa Cruz) Bart Hommels (University of Cambridge (GB)) Amelia Hunter (University of Birmingham (GB)) Robert Hunter (Carleton University (CA)) John Stakely Keller (Carleton University (CA)) Dylan Perry Kisliuk (University of Toronto (CA)) Christoph Thomas Klein (University of Cambridge (GB)) Peter Kodys (Charles University (CZ)) Thomas Koffas (Carleton University (CA)) Zdenek Kotek (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) Jiri Kroll (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) Vera Latonova (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) Igor Mandic (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Michal Marcisovsky (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) George Martinez-Mckinney (SCIPP) Janina Nicolini Robert Orr (University of Toronto (CA)) Kyoji Onaru (University of Tsukuba (JP)) Katerina Peterkova (UJP, a.s. Praha, Czech republic) Simon Pyatt (University of Birmingham (GB)) Katsuya Sato (University of Tsukuba (JP)) Jan Stastny (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) Ezekiel Staats (Carleton University (CA)) Juergen Thomas (University of Birmingham (GB)) Javier Fernandes-Tejero (CNM) Yoshinobu Unno (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (JP)) Sayaka Wada (University of Tsukuba) Iveta Zatocilova (Charles University (CZ))

Presentation materials