Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

Improvement and Evaluation of the Event-driven SOI Pixel Detector with Pattern Processing Circuit for X-ray Astronomy

Dec 14, 2019, 2:14 PM
POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6 (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
POSTER Pixel sensors for imaging POSTER


Ayaki Takeda (University of Miyazaki)


Future X-ray astronomical satellite missions will require a new type of detector that offers a lower non-X-ray background (NXB) rate. To realize this, we have been developing a series of monolithic active pixel detectors, named “XRPIX,” based on silicon-on-insulator (SOI) complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor technology. The XRPIX series offers higher coincidence time resolution (< 10 μs) and wider energy range (1–40 keV) compared to the currently used charge-coupled devices. The XRPIX includes a comparator circuit within each pixel, and can output information of the hit trigger (timing) and the two-dimensional hit pattern (position). Therefore, it is possible to read only the fired pixels, driven by the event. The X-ray readout method using this function is called event-driven mode. This is a key technique in realizing an effective anti-coincidence system. In a previously reported study, we improved the spectroscopic performance by introducing a pinned depleted diode (PDD) structure (Harada et al. 2018, NIMA). The readout noise was measured to be ~10 e- (rms). The energy resolution was ~240 eV (FWHM) in the frame-readout mode at 6.4 keV. However, in this device, an unexpected current path from under the peripheral circuit to the pixel sensing node was observed. We designed a new prototype that improved the structure under the peripheral circuit. In this presentation, we report the recent status and evaluation results of the developed detector with PDD structure.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished

Primary author

Ayaki Takeda (University of Miyazaki)


Dr Koji Mori (University of Miyazaki) Mr Yusuke Nishioka (University of Miyazaki) Mr Masataka Yukumoto (University of Miyazaki) Mr Takahiro Hida (University of Miyazaki) Prof. Takeshi Tsuru (Kyoto University) Dr Takaaki Tanaka (Kyoto Univsersity) Dr Hiroyuki Uchida (Kyoto University) Mr Kazuho Kayama (Kyoto University) Yuki Amano (Kyoto University) Mr Ryota Kodama (Kyoto University) Prof. Yasuo Arai (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK)) Prof. Ikuo Kurachi (HIgh Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK)) Dr Takayoshi Kohmura (Tokyo University of Science) Dr Kouichi Hagino (Tokyo University of Science) Mr Mitsuki Hayashida (Tokyo University of Science) Prof. Shoji Kawahito (Shizuoka University) Prof. Keita Yasutomi (Shizuoka University) Dr Hiroki Kamehama (Okinawa College)

Presentation materials