Oct 13, 2020, 2:40 PM


Oral report Section 2. Experimental and theoretical studies of nuclear reactions. Section 2. Experimental and theoretical studies of nuclear reactions


Dr Andrey Danilov (NRC "Kurchatov Institute")


Experiment was done by our group on $^{12}$C($^{3}$He,t)$^{12}$N reaction. The measurements were conducted at the University of Jyväskylä (Finland) using the K130 cyclotron to produce a $^{3}$He beam at E($^{3}$He)=40 MeV. The 150 cm diameter Large Scattering Chamber was equipped with three ΔE-E detector telescopes, each containing two independent ΔE detectors and one common E detector. So each device allowed carrying out measurements at two angles. The differential cross sections of the ($^{3}$He,t) reaction on $^{12}$C were measured in the c.m. angular range 8°–70°. Self-supported $^{12}$C foils of 0.23 and 0.5 mg/cm$^{2}$ thicknesses were used as targets. It should be mentioned that, before starting measurements, beam monochromatization was done [1], which made it possible to diminish beam energy spreading up to three times and obtain a total energy resolution about 140 keV. Triton angular distributions for the g.s. and three first excited states of $^{12}$N: 0.96-MeV 2$^{+}$, 1.19-MeV 2$^{−}$, and 1.80-MeV 1$^{−}$ were measured. Modified Diffraction Model (MDM) analysis [2] of ($^{3}$He,t) experimental data was done. Enhanced rms radii were obtained for the 2$^{−}$ (1.19-MeV) and 1$^{−}$ (1.80-MeV) states of $^{12}$N. It can be an argument for existence of halo in these states.

  1. W.H. Trzaska et al. Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 903, 241
  2. A.S. Demyanova et al., Physics of Atomic Nuclei 80, 831

Primary authors

Dr Andrey Danilov (NRC "Kurchatov Institute") Dr Alla Demyanova (NRC "Kurchatov Institute") Prof. Alexey Ogloblin (NRC "Kurchatov Institute") Mr Viktar Starastsin (NRC "Kurchatov Institute") Mr Sergey Dmitriev (NRC "Kurchatov Institute") Prof. Sergey Goncharov (Lomonosov Moscow State University) Prof. Tatiana Belyaeva (Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México) Dr Wladislaw Trzaska (Department of Physics, University of Jyväskylä)

Presentation materials