Sep 2 – 9, 2007
Victoria, Canada
Europe/Zurich timezone
Please book accomodation as soon as possible.

Real-time analysis of the operational state of the CMS strip tracker readout system

Sep 3, 2007, 8:00 AM
10h 10m
Victoria, Canada

Victoria, Canada

Board: 16
poster Online Computing Poster 1


Dr Stefano Mersi (INFN & Università di Firenze)


The CMS silicon strip tracker comprises a sensitive area of >200 m2 and 10M readout channels. Its data acquisition system is based around a custom analogue front-end ASIC, an analogue optical link system and an off-detector VME board that performs digitization, zero-suppression and data formatting. The data acquisition system uses the CMS online software framework, known as XDAQ, to configure, control and monitor the hardware components and steer the data acquisition. Recent developments have seen the integration of the CMS offline software framework, known as CMSSW, within the online data acquisition system. This provides many new features and services within the online environment, such as distributed analysis within CMSSW, access to geometry and conditions data, and a monitoring framework. We review how the monitoring frameworks available within both XDAQ and CMSSW will be used to assess the operational state of the hardware components of the strip tracker readout system during data-taking and provide real-time feedback to shifters in the CMS control room. We will report on the software components, the chosen architecture, the various monitoring streams available, and our experiences of commissioning and operating large-scale systems at the tracker integration facility.
Submitted on behalf of Collaboration (ex, BaBar, ATLAS) CMS tracker collaboration

Primary authors

Dr Laurent GROSS (Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien, CNRS) Mr Milan NIKOLIC (University of California) Dr Robert Bainbridge (Imperial College London) Dr Stefano Mersi (INFN & Università di Firenze)


Dr Alessandro GIASSI (INFN, Sezione di Pisa) Dr Christophe DELAERE (CERN) Dr Domenico GIORDANO (INFN & Università di Bari) Dr Frederic DROUHIN (Universite de Haute Alsace) Dr Guillaume BEAULIEU (Institut de Physique Nucleaire de Lyon) Dr Joanne COLE (Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) Dr Jonathan FULCHER (Imperial College London) Dr Kristian HAHN (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Dr Laurent MIRABITO (Institut de Physique Nucleaire de Lyon) Mr Matthew WINGHAM (Imperial College London) Mr Nicholas CRIPPS (Imperial College London) Mr Sebastien Bel (CERN) Dr Slawomir TKACZYK (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory)

Presentation materials