Jul 9 – 13, 2018
Sofia, Bulgaria
Europe/Sofia timezone

System Performance and Cost Modelling in LHC computing

Jul 12, 2018, 3:00 PM
Hall 7 (National Palace of Culture)

Hall 7

National Palace of Culture

presentation Track 3 – Distributed computing T3 - Distributed computing


Andrea Sciaba (CERN)


The increase in the scale of LHC computing expected for Run 3 and even more so for Run 4 (HL-LHC) over the course of the next ten years will most certainly require radical changes to the computing models and the data processing of the LHC experiments. Translating the requirements of the physics programmes into computing resource needs is an extremely complicated process and subject to significant uncertainties. For this reason, WLCG has established a working group to develop methodologies and tools intended to characterize the LHC workloads, better understand their interaction with the computing infrastructure, calculate their cost in terms of resources and expenditure and assist experiments, sites and the WLCG project in the evaluation of their future choices.
This working group started in November 2017 and has about 30 active participants representing experiments and sites. In this contribution we expose the activity and the results obtained so far by the working group and the direction it is taking for the fulfillment of its objectives.

Primary authors

Catherine Biscarat (LPSC Grenoble, IN2P3/CNRS) Tommaso Boccali (INFN Sezione di Pisa, Universita' e Scuola Normale Superiore, P) Prof. Daniele Bonacorsi (University of Bologna) Concezio Bozzi (CERN and INFN Ferrara) Raul Cardoso Lopes (Brunel University (GB)) Davide Costanzo (University of Sheffield (GB)) Dirk Duellmann (CERN) Johannes Elmsheuser (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US)) Eric Fede (CNRS/IN2P3/LAPP) Jose Flix Molina (Centro de Investigaciones Energéti cas Medioambientales y Tecno) Alessandra Forti (University of Manchester (GB)) Martin Gasthuber (DESY) Domenico Giordano (CERN) Costin Grigoras (CERN) Jan Iven (CERN) Michel Jouvin (Université Paris-Saclay (FR)) Yves Kemp (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) David Lange (Princeton University (US)) Helge Meinhard (CERN) Michele Michelotto (Universita e INFN, Padova (IT)) Gareth Douglas Roy (University of Glasgow (GB)) Andrew Sansum (STFC) Andrea Sartirana (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Markus Schulz (CERN) Andrea Sciaba (CERN) Oxana Smirnova (Lund University (SE)) Graeme Stewart (CERN) Andrea Valassi (CERN) Renaud Vernet (Centre de Calcul IN2P3 (FR)) Torre Wenaus (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US)) Frank Wuerthwein (Univ. of California San Diego (US))

Presentation materials