Apr 16 – 20, 2018
Kobe University Convention Centre / Kobe International Conference Center
Asia/Tokyo timezone

2018 Guido Altarelli Award

Guido Altarelli Award

2018 Award Winners

Jun Gao (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

Or Hen (MIT)



Guido Altarelli

The Guido Altarelli Award honours the memory of the late Guido Altarelli, one of the founding fathers of QCD, an outstanding communicator of particle physics, and a mentor and strong supporter of Junior Scientists. The Guido Altarelli Award consists of a certificate and prize money. It is awarded to Junior Scientists for outstanding scientific contributions to the fields covered by the DIS Conference series.

Candidates for the prize should have a maximum of eight years of research experience (excluding career interruptions) following the PhD, at the first day of the conference. The selection is the task of the Selection Committee, which consists of experimental and theoretical particle physicists, and a Chair, who are nominated by the Chair of the International Advisory Committee (IAC) of the DIS Conference in consultation with its members.

The 2018 Guido Altarelli Award will be presented during the DIS18 conference, which will take place in Kobe, Japan, in the week 16-20 April 2018. Nominations should be sent to Elisabetta Gallo, Chair of the Selection Committee, gallo@mail.desy.de, including:

  • a letter of support for the candidate by the nominating person. The letter should state the original and exceptional contributions of the candidate in the fields of DIS or related subjects, and end with a suggested text with the motivation why the award should be given to the candidate;
  • the curriculum vitae of the candidate;
  • a list of 3--‐5 publications in the last eight years, related to the subject of the DIS conference, to which the candidate has given significant contributions;
  • the names of two colleagues, who could provide additional information on the candidate.

Self-nominations are not allowed. All applications should be sent by December 31st, 2017.

The award 2018 is sponsored by: