Feb 18 – 22, 2019
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

The gaseous QUAD pixel detector

Feb 21, 2019, 12:20 PM


Talk Gaseous Detectors Gas Detectors


Dr Peter Kluit (Nikhef) Peter Kluit (Nikhef National institute for subatomic physics (NL)) Mr Ruud Kluit (Nikhef (NL))


We have developed a gaseous pixel detector based on four Timepix3 chips that can serve as a building block for a large detector plane. To provide the required gas amplification a fine grid has been deposited on the chip surface by wafer postprocessing (GridPix technology). The precisely aligned grid holes and chip pixels having a pitch of 55 µm and the high time resolution of 1.56 ns of the Timepix3 chip enable the reconstruction of each individual ionization electron where the accuracy is dominated by diffusion. The QUAD is designed to have minimum electrical field inhomogenities and distortions, achieving a tracking precision in the pixel plane with systematics of better than 10 microns. Due to the high efficiency to detect the ionization electrons a precise measurement of the energy loss dE/dx can be performed.
The QUAD detector has all services located under the detection surface. In this way multiple QUADs can be simply put together to create a detection surface of arbitrary dimensions. A possible application is in the readout modules of a large TPC.
In the presentation we show details about the construction of the QUAD and the results from a recent test beam experiment performed at the ELSA electron beam in Bonn where a silicon telescope was used to provide accurate tracking.

Primary authors

Prof. Harry van der Graaf (Nikhef) Dr Fred Hartjes (Nikhef) Mr Kevin Heijhoff (Nikhef) Dr Naomi van der Kolk (Nikhef) Mr Cornelis Ligtenberg (Nikhef) Prof. Gerhard Raven (Nikhef) Dr Jan Timmermans (Nikhef) Dr Yevgen Bilevych (Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bonn) Prof. Klaus Desch (Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bonn) Mr Markus Gruber (Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bonn) Dr Jochen Kaminski (Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bonn) Mr Lucian Scharenberg (Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bonn) Mr Tobias Schiffer (Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bonn) Mr Sebastian Schmidt (Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bonn) Dr Peter Kluit (Nikhef)

Presentation materials