22-27 September 2019
Hyatt Regency Hotel Vancouver
Canada/Pacific timezone

Mon-Mo-Or1-05: Updates on the conceptual design of the European DEMO superconducting magnet system

23 Sep 2019, 12:30
Regency AB

Regency AB


Kamil Sedlak (EPFL Lausanne)


In DEMO fusion reactor the confinement of the plasma is achieved through the magnetic field generated by superconducting coils. The DEMO magnet system includes 16 Toroidal Field (TF) coils, 6 Poloidal Field (PF) coils and 5 modules for the Central Solenoid (CS) magnet. For the TF coils, four winding pack options are presented: one solution reproduces the ITER concept with radial plates, whereas the other three designs explore different winding approaches (pancakes vs. layers) without radial plates, and manufacturing techniques (react & wind vs. wind & react Nb3Sn), with the aim of improving the effectiveness of the conductors and propose cost effective solutions for the magnet system.
For the CS modules two designs have been proposed: the first is based on a pancake wound W&R Nb3Sn conductor, like in ITER. The second concept is based on a hybrid design with layer-wound sub-coils using HTS conductors in the high field section. Compared to the first option, the hybrid configuration allows keeping the same flux with reduced size or increasing the flux keeping the same size. Two different designs are also presented for the PF coils, following the concept that one solution is similar to the ITER one, whereas the second explore alternative concepts, such as the design of PF 1 and PF6 wound with Nb3Sn Cable-in-Conduit Conductors.
In order to validate the designs, thermal-hydraulic and mechanical analyses are carried out for all WPs, as well as experimental tests on full size and sub-size prototypes. Results are encouraging, with some critical aspects that shall be solved in future designs.
Finally, preliminary studies of the auxiliary systems (fast discharge units, feeders and cryogenic system), aiming to optimize the power consumption and the space allocation, are presented.

Primary authors

Valentina Corato (ENEA) Dr Alessandro Anemona (ICAS) Nadezda Bagrets (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology – KIT) Mr Alberto Brighenti (Politecnico di Torino) Roberto Bonifetto (Politecnico di Torino) Dr François BONNE (CEA/SBT) Prof. Daniela Boso (University of Padova) Pierluigi Bruzzone (EPFL-SPC) Vincenzo D'Auria (EPFL - EPF Lausanne) Mattia Dan (Consorzio RFX ) Mr Antonio della Corte (ENEA) Aleksandra Dembkowska (West Pomeranian University of Technology) Ortensia Dicuonzo (EPFL-SPC) Aldo Di Zenobio (ENEA) Walter Fietz (KIT) Elena Gaio (Consorzio RFX) Lorenzo Giannini (ENEA) Reinhard Heller (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Christine Hoa (CEA SBT) Ilia Ivashov (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH) Mithlesh Kumar (PSI - Paul Scherrer Institut) Mr Benoît Lacroix (CEA IRFM) Monika Lewandowska (West Pomeranian University of Technology, Szczecin) Alberto Maistrello (Consorzio RFX) Nicolas Mantel (CEA) Luigi Morici (ENEA) Luigi Muzzi (ENEA) Mrs Sylvie Nicollet (CEA IRFM) Arend Nijhuis (University of Twente) Francois Nunio (CEA) Dr Gherardo Romanelli (Tratos ) Xabier Sarasola (EPFL) Laura Savoldi (Politecnico di Torino) Kamil Sedlak (EPFL Lausanne) Boris Stepanov (EPFL-SPC) Ion Tiseanu (INFLPR) Giordano Tomassetti (ENEA) Alexandre Torre (CEA) Simonetta Turtu' (ENEA/ICAS) Davide Uglietti Christian Vorpahl (EUROfusion) Dr Klaus-Peter Weiss (KIT, Institute for Technical Physics) Rainer Wesche (EPFL) Michael Wolf (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)) Louis Zani (CEA) Roberto Zanino (politecnico di torino)

Presentation Materials