22-27 September 2019
Hyatt Regency Hotel Vancouver
Canada/Pacific timezone

Mon-Af-Po1.13-04 [24]: Design and Analysis of a Multi-Bore NMR Magnet Array

23 Sep 2019, 14:30
Level 2 Posters 1

Level 2 Posters 1

Poster Presentation Mon-Af-Po1.13 - Magnets for NMR


Mr Jaemin Kim (Seoul National University)


In this paper, we propose a new concept of “multi-bore” NMR (nuclear magnetic resonance) magnet, where multiple high temperature superconductor (HTS) NNR magnets are closely positioned to form a magnet array. A key benefit of the multi-bore NMR system over its single-bore counterpart may be that it shares some common parts, especially cryogenic system and current lead, thus the overall multi-bore NMR system could be substantially more compact than the same number of single-bore NMR systems. However, due to the close positioning of multiple HTS NMR magnets, the electromagnetic interference among neighbor magnets may be significant, which leads to challenges in: (1) obtaining NMR quality field uniformity; (2) keeping sustainable electromagnetic force and stress; and (3) safe quench protection. This paper presents our initial design of a 4-by-4 multi-bore NMR magnet array. Then, a set of ferro-shims is designed to obtain a target field uniformity for all magnet components. The unbalanced Lorentz force on each magnet is also calculated with a first-cut design of the support structure. Finally, a post-quench analysis is performed with mutual inductances among magnets taken into consideration.

Keywords: Array of magnets, field uniformity, HTS magnet, multi-bore NMR
Category: D01 - Magnets for NMR

This work was supported by the Korea Basic Science Institute (KBSI) grant D39611. It was also partly supported by the National Research Foundation of Korea as a part of Mid-Career Research Program (No. 2018R1A2B3009249).

Primary author

Mr Jaemin Kim (Seoul National University)


Jeonghwan Park (Seoul National University) Jeseok Bang (Seoul National University) Uijong Bong (Seoul National University) Jung Tae Lee (Seoul National University) Mr Soobin An (SeoulNationalUniversity) Chaemin Im (Seoul National University) Seong Hyeon Park (Seoul National University) Young Jin Hwang (Korea Basic Science Institute) Jae young Jang (Korea Basic Science Institute) SangGap Lee (Korea Basic Science Institute) Seungyong Hahn (Seoul National University)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.