22-27 September 2019
Hyatt Regency Hotel Vancouver
Canada/Pacific timezone

Mon-Mo-Po1.03-16 [35]: Preliminary Study of the High Temperature Superconducting Solution for 2GeV CW FFAG Magnet

23 Sep 2019, 09:15
Level 2 Posters 1

Level 2 Posters 1


Dr Ming Li (China Institute of Atomic Energy) Tianjue Zhang (China Institute of Atomic Energy)


Proton beam with an average power of 5MW-10MW have important applications in particle physics towards the intensity frontier, as well as in the advanced energy, and material science. The fixed field alternating gradient (FFAG) accelerator combines the advantages of existing accelerators, which has a higher limitation of beam energy than high power cyclotron and has a higher beam-to-grid efficiency than existing high power linac and synchrotron, thus is considered as a good candidate for high power proton machine.
By utilizing the strong focusing and large acceptance features of FFAG in the theoretical framework of the fixed field and fixed frequency of isochronous cyclotron, a 2GeV/6MW continue wave FFAG design has been proposed in China Institute of Atomic Energy (CIAE). Due to the beam loss of high power proton beams, the resulting high radiation will deposit a large amount of radiation dose and head load on the SC magnet. As the high temperature superconductors (HTS) have a much larger thermal margin due to high critical temperature (> 90 K) and high upper critical field (> 100 T) than the traditional low temperature superconductors, and have been also considered have the lower overall construction costs and power consumption than the conventional magnet, currently the HTS magnet is the favorable solution for the 2GeV FFAG magnet design. In this paper, the lattice design along with the requirements on the F-D-F magnet of the 2GeV FFAG design is briefly introduced first. Then, the design of the F-D-F magnet is outlined. And the details of the HTS coil design utilizing ReBCO conductor and operating at ~40 K is also included.

Primary authors

Chuan Wang (China Institute of Atomic Energy) Dr Tianjian Bian (China Institute of Atomic Energy) Dr Ming Li (China Institute of Atomic Energy) Mr Wei Fu (China Institute of Atomic Energy) Mr Shenglong Wang (China Institute of Atomic Energy) Dr Shizhong An (China Institute of Atomic Energy) Tianjue Zhang (China Institute of Atomic Energy)

Presentation Materials