Nov 4 – 8, 2019
Adelaide Convention Centre
Australia/Adelaide timezone

Xrootd Third Party Copy for the WLCG and HL-LHC

Nov 5, 2019, 11:30 AM
Riverbank R8 (Adelaide Convention Centre)

Riverbank R8

Adelaide Convention Centre

Oral Track 4 – Data Organisation, Management and Access Track 4 – Data Organisation, Management and Access


Wei Yang (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (US))


A Third Party Copy (TPC) has existed in the pure XRootD storage environment for many years. However using XRootD TPC in the WLCG environment presents additional challenges due to the diversity of the storage systems involved such as EOS, dCache, DPM and ECHO, requiring that we carefully navigate the unique constraints imposed by these storage systems and their site-specific environments through customized configuration and software development. To support multi-tenant setups seen at many WLCG sites, X509 based authentication and authorization in XRootD was significantly improved to meet both security and functionality requirements. This paper presents architecture of the pull based TPC with optional X509 credential delegation and how it is implemented in native XRootD and dCache. The paper discusses technical requirements, challenges, design choices and implementation details in the WLCG storage systems, as well as in FTS/gfal2. It also outlines XRootD’s plan to support newer TPC and security models such as token based authorization.

Consider for promotion Yes

Primary authors

Andrew Hanushevsky (STANFORD LINEAR ACCELERATOR CENTER) Gerardo Ganis (CERN) Wei Yang (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (US))


Mr Albert Rossi (FNAL) Andrea Manzi (CERN) Brian Paul Bockelman (University of Nebraska Lincoln (US)) Dmitry Litvintsev (FNAL) Elvin Alin Sindrilaru (CERN) Fabrizio Furano (CERN) George Patargias (STFC) Hironori Ito (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US)) Horst Severini (University of Oklahoma (US)) Mr Ian Johnson (STFC) Katy Ellis (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB)) Michal Kamil Simon (CERN) Oliver Freyermuth (University of Bonn (DE)) Oliver Keeble (CERN) Paul Millar Tigran Mkrtchyan (DESY) Tim Adye (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB))

Presentation materials