Vienna Central European Seminar 2019

TUtheSky (TU Wien)


TU Wien

Getreidemarkt 9 1060 Wien Austria

The 15th Central European Seminar on Particle Physics and Quantum Field Theory, November 28-29, 2019 at the TUtheSky Meeting Hall, Getreidemark 9, 1060 Vienna, will be dedicated to the topic 

Precision Physics at the LHC

The meeting is jointly organized by the Theoretical Physics Departments of the University of Vienna and TU Wien, as well as by the Institute of High Energy Physics of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and supported by the Faculty of Physics of the University of Vienna, the FWF doctoral school Particles and Interactions (P28535-N27) and the EU COST-ACTION (CA 16201) Unravelling new physics at the LHC through precision.

The topic of this year's meeting focuses on precision calculations and phenomenology at Large Hadron Collider and includes fixed-order and resummed as well as effective theory cross section calculations, Monte-Carlo event generators and on phenomenology related to the Higgs boson, jets, heavy flavour as well as electroweak effects in the context of current and future LHC studies including proton-proton and heavy ion collisions.

The seminar series was created 2004 and is intended to provide stimulating interactions between leading researchers and promising junior physicists on dedicated research topics. A considerable number of junior scientists participate in the seminar series. We particularly invite junior participants, including advanced graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and junior faculty to attend the meeting. 

The conference fee for regular participants is 50 EUR and is to be paid in cash at the registration desk. 

Presentations are by invitation only. A list of hotel suggestions can be found here.


Confirmed Invited Speakers include

Thomas Becher

Ansgar Denner

Pietro Govoni

Edmond Iancu

Abideh Jafari

Patrick Kirchgaesser

Anna Kulesza

Aleksi Kurkela

Tuomas Lappi

Bernhard Mistlberger

Simone Marzani

Joao Pires

Klaus Rabbertz

Daniel Samitz

Steffen Schumann

Zoltan Trocsanyi

Sandro Uccirati

Leonardo Vernazza

Michael Weber

Urs Wiedemann

Dieter Zeppenfeld

Public Lecture (Nov 28 18:30 - 20:00; free entry to the lecture)

Subir Sarkar (University of Oxford)Constructing the universe

Junior Scientists

We invite applications from graduate students and post-doctoral fellows to submit applications for poster presentations. Successful applicants can receive financial support to participate; please indicate so when registering.

For this year's seminar the EU COST-ACTION (CA 16201) Unravelling new physic at the LHC through precision kindly supports the seminar with a limited number of grants covering topics in Working Group 1 (Innovative tools, algorithms and methods for precision calculations and the deep quantum structure of Yang-Mills theories) and Working Group 2 (Phenomenology at the energy frontier with high-quality LHC data). Seminar participants interested in a COST support shall contact the organizers. The conference fee is waived by participants supported by COST. We particularly encourage applications from the networks’ Inclusiveness Target Countries: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Croatia, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Republic of Serbia and Turkey. Applications (incl. CV, statement of research and publication list) should be sent by October 10, 2019.

Organizing Committee

Andre Hoang (University of Vienna)
Simon Plätzer (University of Vienna)
Massimiliano Procura (University of Vienna)
Anton Rebhan (TU Wien)
Adam Kardos (University of Debrecen)


The meeting is supported by:




  • Abideh Jafari
  • Adam Kardos
  • Aditya Pathak
  • Altan Cakir
  • Amit Nanda
  • Andre Hoang
  • Andreas Ipp
  • Andrius Juodagalvis
  • Angelika Widl
  • Anna Kulesza
  • Ansgar Denner
  • Anton Rebhan
  • Bahman Dehnadi
  • Bernhard Mistlberger
  • Boris Tomasik
  • Christoph Bartsch
  • Christoph Regner
  • Christopher Lepenik
  • Daniel Lechner
  • Daniel Moser
  • Daniel Samitz
  • Daniel Schuh
  • David Mueller
  • Deniz Sunar Cerci
  • Dieter Zeppenfeld
  • Dietmar Kuhn
  • Edmond Iancu
  • Eero Aleksi Kurkela
  • Elisa Meninno
  • Emma Simpson Dore
  • Eniko Regos
  • Gerhard Ecker
  • Gerhard Ungersbaeck
  • Hanno Filter
  • Harvishavjit singh Dhillon
  • Helmut Neufeld
  • Helmuth Hüffel
  • Ines Ruffa
  • Jan Lüdtke
  • Jarkko Peuron
  • Joao Pires
  • Josef Leutgeb
  • Josef Pradler
  • Jui-Lin Kuo
  • Kirill Boguslavski
  • Klaus Rabbertz
  • Krzysztof Grzanka
  • Leonardo Vernazza
  • Lukas Semmelrock
  • Lóránt Tóth
  • Magdalena Kordiaczyńska
  • Marco Nikolic
  • Markus Doppler
  • Massimiliano Procura
  • Matteo Favoni
  • Maximilian Löschner
  • Merjema Genjac
  • Michael Weber
  • Michel Bertemes
  • Patrick Kirchgaesser
  • Peter Maták
  • Pietro Govoni
  • Priya Sajid Hussain
  • Salim Cerci
  • Sandro Uccirati
  • Sebastian Templ
  • Selma Kovacevic
  • Sergio Leal Gómez
  • Simon Plätzer
  • Simone Marzani
  • Steffen Schumann
  • Subir Sarkar
  • Tania Robens
  • Thomas Becher
  • Thomas Gajdosik
  • Tomas Kadavy
  • Tuomas Lappi
  • Urs Achim Wiedemann
  • vlad Pas
  • Walter Grimus
  • Wolfgang Lucha
  • Wolfgang Waltenberger
  • Zoltán Trócsányi