Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

Testbeam measurements with passive CMOS pixel sensors in 150 nm LFoundry technology bump-bonded to the RD53A readout chip

Dec 14, 2019, 2:27 PM
POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6 (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
POSTER Pixel sensors for tracking POSTER


Yannick Manuel Dieter (University of Bonn (DE))


The Large Hadron Collider at CERN will be upgraded to the High-Luminosity-LHC and will deliver an instantaneous luminosity increased by a factor of 5 - 8 from 2026 on compared to now. In order to cope with the increased radiation level and hit rate, detectors with better radiation tolerance and higher data rate capabilities are demanded. Therefore, the ATLAS experiment, one of the four large experiments at CERN, gets an all new pixel detector which is part of the ATLAS tracking detector. The new ATLAS pixel detector will consist of 5 layers and its surface will increase from $2\,\text{m}^2$ to around $15\,\text{m}^2$ in the future.

Therefore, commercial CMOS processes which offer high yield and high throughput at comparatively low costs are of interest in order to build up large scale detectors not only for the readout chip but also for the sensor.

In order to qualify the suitability of commercial CMOS pixel sensors for the ATLAS pixel detector upgrade, pixel sensors using a $150\,\text{nm}$ CMOS technology offered by LFoundry have been designed and produced.
These passive CMOS sensors were bump-bonded to a RD53A readout chip which is the first prototype readout chip for the ATLAS pixel detector upgrade. The characterization of the pixel sensors in the lab as well as in a test beam using $2.5\,\text{GeV}$ electrons will be presented.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished

Primary author

Yannick Manuel Dieter (University of Bonn (DE))


Michael Daas (University of Bonn (DE)) Jochen Christian Dingfelder (University of Bonn (DE)) Tomasz Hemperek (University of Bonn (DE)) Fabian Huegging (University of Bonn) Jens Janssen (University of Bonn (DE)) Hans Krueger (University of Bonn) David-Leon Pohl (University of Bonn (DE)) Marco Vogt (Universitaet Bonn (DE)) Norbert Wermes (University of Bonn (DE))

Presentation materials