Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

The MuPix sensor for the Mu3e experiment

Dec 14, 2019, 2:32 PM
POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6 (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
POSTER Pixel sensors for tracking POSTER


Alena Larissa Weber (Ruprecht Karls Universitaet Heidelberg (DE))


The Mu3e experiment will search for the charged lepton flavour violating decay $ \mu^{+} \to e^{+}e^{-}e^{+} $ with a sensitivity of one in $ 10^{16} $ decays (in phase II). To reach this sensitivity a momentum resolution of 0.5 MeV/c and a vertex resolution of about 200 $ \mu $m is required.

The particle rate is given by the more than $ 10^{9} $ muon stops per second. All the hits will be readout using a continuous readout system. To achieve the specifications High Voltage Monolithic Active Pixel Sensors (HV-MAPS) are used for all layers of the tracking system. The chip developed for Mu3e is called MuPix. In the last years several prototypes were designed and tested. The first large prototype is the MuPix8 (1 x 2 cm$^{2}$) which has be successfully tested in the lab and using test beams. The next large MuPix, MuPix10, will be submitted by the end of 2019 and represents a final version prototype. The matrix contains 250 x 256 pixels, each pixel with size 80 $\mu$m x 80 $\mu$m. The total chip size is 20.66 x 23.18 mm$^{2}$. The signal is amplified in the pixel and then transmitted as an analog signal to the readout cell located in the chip periphery where the signal is discriminated with two comparators. The time information consists of 11 bits for the hit arrival time and 5 bits for the time-over-threshold. MuPix10 is based on a 180 nm HV-CMOS process.

In this talk the measurement results of the MuPix8 and the final design of the MuPix10 will be presented.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished


Mr Adrian Herkert (Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg ) Prof. Andre Schoening (Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg ) Ms Annie Meneses Gonzalez (Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg ) David Maximilian Immig (Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg ) Mr Felix Ehrler (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Frank Meier Aeschbacher (Paul Scherrer Institut) Mr Heiko Augustin (Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg ) Ms Hui Zhang (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology ) Prof. Ivan Peric (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology ) Jan Hammerich (Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg ) Mr Jens Kroeger (Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg ) Dr Lennart Huth (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron ) Ms Mridula Prathapan (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology ) Prof. Niklaus Berger (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz) Mr Rudolf Schimassek (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology ) Dr Sebastian Dittmeier (Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg )

Presentation materials