Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB
July 28, 2020 to August 6, 2020
virtual conference
Europe/Prague timezone

Timepix3 as solid-state time-projection chamber in particle and nuclear physics

Jul 30, 2020, 8:15 AM
virtual conference

virtual conference

Talk 12. Operation, Performance and Upgrade of Present Detectors Operation, Performance and Upgrade of Present Detectors


Benedikt Bergmann (Czech Technical Universtity in Prague)


Timepix3 detectors are the latest member of the Medipix/Timepix family of hybrid pixel detectors developed at CERN. These detectors feature a segmented detector (256 x 256 pixels, pixel-pitch of 55 µm) flip-chip bump-bonded to the readout ASIC. In each pixel, Time-over-Threshold and Time-of-Arrival are measured simultaneously, while keeping a counting mode capability. The per-pixel dead time amounts to 475 ns.
In this contribution, we show that the time resolution of approximately 2 ns is sufficient to measure drift times of charge carriers, which in turn are used to reconstruct particle trajectories in 3D (creating a solid-state time-projection chamber). Using 40 GeV/c pion test beam data, we show that a z-resolution of 30 µm and 60 µm can be achieved in 500 µm thick silicon and 2 mm thick CdTe sensor layers, respectively. We show how the 3D information increases the particle type sensitivity and angular resolving power.
We apply the presented techniques to the evaluation of data taken in the ATLAS and MoEDAL experiments at CERN, where Timepix3 detectors (with 500 µm thick silicon sensors) are used as active radiation detectors. We describe how such methodology improves vertex reconstruction and angular correlation function measurement of internally created electron positron pairs in an experiment carried out at the Van-de-Graaff accelerator of the Institute of Experimental and Applied Physics.

Secondary track (number) 11

Primary authors

Benedikt Bergmann (Czech Technical Universtity in Prague) Claude Leroy (Universite de Montreal (CA)) Hugo Natal da Luz (Universidade de Sao Paulo (BR)) Lukas Meduna (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Michal Suk (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Petr Burian (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Petr Manek (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Dr Rudolf Sykora (Institute of Experimental and Applied Physics, Czech Technical University in Prague) Stanislav Pospisil (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Thomas Remy Victor Billoud (Universite de Montreal (CA)) Dr Vlasios Petousis (Czech Technical University (CZ))

Presentation materials