May 24 – 28, 2021
America/Vancouver timezone

Optimization of gain layer doping, profile and carbon levels on HPK and FBK sensors

May 26, 2021, 8:24 AM
Parallel session talk Sensors: Solid-state position sensors Sensors: Solid-state sensors for tracking


Dr Simone Michele Mazza (University of California,Santa Cruz (US))


Low Gain Avalanche Detectors (LGADs) are thin silicon detectors with moderate internal signal amplification. LGADs are capable of providing measurements of minimum-ionizing particles with time resolution as good as 17 pico-seconds. The first implementation of this technology will be with the high luminosity upgrade at the Large Hadron Collider (HL-LHC). Past publications have proven the vast improvement in term of radiation hardness of deep gain layer and carbon implantation in LGAD designs. In this contribution a study will be shown on the tuning of the doping concentration in the deep gain layer of HPK sensors to optimize the performance before and after radiation damage. Furthermore the effect of the combination of a deep gain layer and carbon implantation in FBK sensors will be shown alongside an optimization of the carbon concentration level. Results on electrical properties and charge collection will be shown on pre and post irradiation.

Funding information US department of energy
TIPP2020 abstract resubmission? No, this is an entirely new submission.

Primary authors

Dr Simone Michele Mazza (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Abraham Seiden (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Prof. Bruce Andrew Schumm (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Carolyn Gee (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Eric Ryan (University of California, Santa Cruz) Hartmut Sadrozinski (SCIPP, UC santa Cruz) Hartmut Sadrozinski (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Heyi Ren (University of California, Santa Cruz) Michal Tarka (UCSC) Mohammad Nizam (HBNI,Tata Institute of Fundamental Research) Rene Padilla (UC Santa Cruz) Yuzhan Zhao (University of California Santa Cruz) Yuzhan Zhao (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Nicolo Cartiglia (INFN Torino (IT)) Valentina Sola (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Marco Ferrero (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Roberta Arcidiacono (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Federico Siviero (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Federico Siviero (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Giovanni Paternoster (Fondazione Bruno KEssler) Andrea Ficorella Maurizio Boscardin (FBK Trento)

Presentation materials