May 24 – 28, 2021
America/Vancouver timezone

Development of AC-LGADs for large-scale high-precision time and position measurements

May 25, 2021, 5:00 AM
Poster Sensors: Solid-state position sensors Sensor Posters: SS Position


Eric Ryan (University of California, Santa Cruz)


We present measurements on AC-LGADs (aka Resistive Silicon Detectors RSD), a version of LGAD which has shown to provide spatial resolution on the few 10‘s of micrometer scale. This is achieved by un-segmented (p-type) gain layer and (n-type) N-layer, and a di-electric layer separating the metal readout pads. The high spatial precision is achieved by using the information from multiple pads, exploiting the intrinsic charge sharing capabilities of the AC-LGAD provided by the common N-layer.
Using focused IR-Laser scans directed alternatively at the read-out side and the bias side, the following detector parameters have been investigated in RSD produced by FBK: sheet resistance and termination resistance of the n-layer, thickness of the di-electric, doping profile of the gain layer, and pitch and size of the readout pads.
The data are used to recommend a base-line sensor for near-future large-scale application with need for precision timing and position resolution (e.g. EIC)

Funding information This work was supported by the United States Department of Energy, grant DE-FG02 04ER41286

Primary authors

Hartmut Sadrozinski (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Simone Michele Mazza (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Abraham Seiden (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Bruce Andrew Schumm (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Eric Ryan (University of California, Santa Cruz) Yuzhan Zhao (University of California Santa Cruz) Heyi Ren (University of California, Santa Cruz) Rene Padilla (UC Santa Cruz) Sean Hyslop (University of California, Santa Cruz (US)) Carolyn Gee (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Michal Tarka (UCSC) Zachary Galloway Nicolo Cartiglia (INFN Torino (IT)) Marco Mandurrino (INFN) Valentina Sola (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Roberta Arcidiacono (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Marco Ferrero (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Marta Tornago (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Federico Siviero (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Giovanni Paternoster (Fondazione Bruno KEssler) Francesco Ficorella Maurizio Boscardin (FBK Trento)

Presentation materials