Questioning Fundamental Physical Principles

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room (CERN)

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room


Show room on map
Nikos Mavromatos (University of London (GB))
The discovery of the Higgs Boson at the LHC marks the apotheosis of quantum field theory, but there is no sign of standard BSM physics, leaving many physicists wondering whether the Higgs is all there is. The standard theoretical framework is beset by paradoxes, such as black-hole physics, the problems of measurement and decoherence in quantum theory. These lead some theorists to question the fundamental principles of Lorentz-invariance, the equivalence principle and locality, with possible consequences for CPT Violation and other matter-antimatter differences. The latter could be probed in experiments at CERN and elsewhere, as well as having implications for Early-Universe Cosmology. This workshop will bring together theorists exploring these issues as well as experimentalists confronting their ideas. The workshop is funded partially by the CERN Theory Division, the ERC Advanced Investigator Grant of John Ellis (267352) and by the COST Action MP1006 "Fundamental Problems in Quantum Physics".
  • Adrian Bevan
  • Andrzej Kupsc
  • Angelo Bassi
  • Antonio De Santis
  • Antonio Di Domenico
  • Apostolos Pilaftsis
  • Banibrata Mukhopadhyay
  • Barbara Clerbaux
  • Beatrix C. Hiesmayr
  • Blas Diego
  • Catalina Oana Curceanu
  • Christoph Schwanda
  • Claus Laemmerzahl
  • Craig Hogan
  • Dieter Grzonka
  • Eberhard Widmann
  • Edoardo Milotti
  • Elias Kiritsis
  • Fabio Sciarrino
  • Gabriela Barenboim
  • Gerald Gabrielse
  • Giovanni Passaleva
  • Graham Shore
  • Henry Lubatti
  • Jack Steinberger
  • James Pinfold
  • Johann Marton
  • Keith Alison Olive
  • Klaus Schubert
  • Marco De Cesare
  • marco genoevse
  • Maria Fidecaro
  • Massimo Blasone
  • Michael Charlton
  • Michael Doser
  • Mikhail Shaposhnikov
  • Nikos Mavromatos
  • Pawel Moskal
  • Rabindra Mohapatra
  • Ryugo Hayano
  • Sarben Sarkar
  • Silvia Pascoli
  • Silvia Tentindo
  • Stefano Liberati
  • Thomas Durt
  • Vasiliki Mitsou
  • Vincent Debierre
  • Walter Oelert
  • Xiao-Rui Lu
  • Yu Shi