(Re)interpreting the results of new physics searches at the LHC

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room (CERN)

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room


Show room on map
Michelangelo Mangano (CERN), Sabine Kraml (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR))

Registrations are now closed. Due to the large number of participants, and limited capicity of the mtg room, those who are not registered are kindly invited to follow the mtg from vidyo

The LHC collaborations are pursuing searches for new physics in a vast variety of channels. The full understanding of the implications of these searches requires the interpretation of the experimental results in the context of all kinds of theoretical models. This is a very active field, with several public tools being developed.

The goal of this workshop is to review the status of efforts and tools for the BSM (re)interpretation of LHC data, and to set the stage for a continued interaction between theorists and with the experiments. A possible outcome of the meeting is the creation of a working group, whose plan and organization can be outlined during the available discussion time.

This meeting follows up on related activities in 2011-2015 at the Les Houches PhysTeV workshop series and previous workshops held at CERN and in Grenoble:

VIDYO connection will be available.

For information relative to housing, access to CERN for those not holding a CERN card and laptop registration, please check

Videoconference Rooms
(Re)interpreting the results of new physics searches at the LHC 15 Jun - 17 Jun
Michelangelo Mangano
Auto-join URL
Useful links
Phone numbers
  • Abideh Jafari
  • Adil Jueid
  • Ahmed Ismail
  • Albert De Roeck
  • Alexander Belyaev
  • Alexandra Carvalho Antunes De Oliveira
  • Alexandre Arbey
  • Andre Lessa
  • Andrea Coccaro
  • Andreas Goudelis
  • Andy Buckley
  • Are Raklev
  • Arely Cortes Gonzalez
  • Ashok Kumar
  • Benjamin Allanach
  • Benjamin Fuks
  • Bibhuti Parida
  • Biplob Bhattacherjee
  • Brian Petersen
  • Bryan Zaldivar
  • Chris Pollard
  • Christian Gutschow
  • Christoph Michael Langenbruch
  • Christopher McCabe
  • Clement Helsens
  • Corinne Goy
  • Csaba Balazs
  • Daniel Schmeier
  • Daniele Barducci
  • Darren Price
  • David Yallup
  • Davide Racco
  • Deepak Kar
  • Denys Lontkovskyi
  • Diego Martinez Santos
  • Dipan Sengupta
  • Doug Gingrich
  • Eamonn James Maguire
  • Elena Michelle Villhauer
  • Elvira Rossi
  • Emanuele Re
  • Emidio Gabrielli
  • emilio torrente-lujan
  • Enrico Morgante
  • Fedor Ratnikov
  • Felix Kahlhoefer
  • Filipe Rafael Joaquim
  • Florian Urs Bernlochner
  • Francesco Conventi
  • Freya Blekman
  • Gabriel Facini
  • Garabed Halladjian
  • Gianfranco Bertone
  • Giuliano Gustavino
  • Graeme Watt
  • Guillaume CHALONS
  • Iacopo Vivarelli
  • Ina Lorenz
  • James Beacham
  • James Joseph Buchanan
  • Jamie Tattersall
  • Jamil Ahmed
  • Jan Heisig
  • Jernej F. Kamenik
  • Jian Wang
  • Joachim Kopp
  • Jonathan Butterworth
  • Jonathan Da Silva
  • Jong Soo Kim
  • Jory Sonneveld
  • Juan Gonzalez-Fraile
  • Judita Mamuzic
  • Julie Hogan
  • Jyothsna Rani Komaragiri
  • Jürgen Reuter
  • Karol Krizka
  • Katri Huitu
  • Kazuki Sakurai
  • Kentarou Mawatari
  • Kerstin Hoepfner
  • Kilian Rosbach
  • Klaus Monig
  • Kristin Lohwasser
  • Krzysztof Rolbiecki
  • Leonardo Cristella
  • Lesya Shchutska
  • Liantao Wang
  • Luca Panizzi
  • Luminita Mihaila
  • Marc Thomas
  • Marcin Chrzaszcz
  • Marie-Helene Genest
  • Marta Felcini
  • Martin John White
  • Masaya Ishino
  • Mathieu Pellen
  • Maurizio Pierini
  • Michael Krämer
  • Michelangelo Mangano
  • Mohammad Ahmady
  • Nazila Mahmoudi
  • Nicole Bell
  • Nishita Desai
  • Orlando Pannella
  • Otman Charaf
  • Pat Scott
  • Peter Athron
  • Prolay Kumar Mal
  • Raman Khurana
  • Roberto Ruiz De Austri
  • Sabine Kraml
  • Samuel Ross Meehan
  • Sezen Sekmen
  • Shankha Banerjee
  • Shehu AbdusSalam
  • sheraz ahmad
  • Shilpi Jain
  • Silvia Resconi
  • Simon Knutzen
  • Simone Amoroso
  • Sophio Pataraia
  • Stefano Giagu
  • Steve Muanza
  • Suchita Kulkarni
  • Swagata Mukherjee
  • Tania Natalie Robens
  • Tetiana Hryn'ova
  • Thomas David Jacques
  • Thomas Rizzo
  • Ursula Laa
  • Valerio Ippolito
  • Vasiliki Kouskoura
  • Werner Porod
  • William Shepherd
  • Wolfgang Adam
  • Xanthe Hoad
  • Yangyang Cheng
    • 09:00 12:30
      Presentation of results: SUSY & Exotics searches
    • 12:30 14:00
      Lunch break 1h 30m
    • 14:00 15:45
      Presentation of results: fiducial cross sections, likelihoods
      • 14:00
        Higgs fiducial cross sections 20m
        Speaker: Florian Urs Bernlochner (Universitaet Bonn (DE))
      • 14:30
        Data and likelihood release in LHCb 25m
        Speaker: Christoph Michael Langenbruch (University of Warwick (GB))
      • 15:00
        Experience with likelihoods in Icecube 15m
        Speaker: Pat Scott
      • 15:20
        Discussion 25m
    • 15:45 16:15
      Coffee & tea break 30m
    • 16:15 18:15
      Using the LHC results: dark matter, long lived particles
    • 09:00 09:25
      CMS Open Data 25m
      Speaker: Kati Lassila-Perini (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI))
    • 09:35 09:55
      Proposal of a "Les Houches Analysis Description Accord" 20m
      Speaker: Sezen Sekmen (Kyungpook National University (KR))
    • 10:05 10:25
      Constraining BSM (simplified) models with SM measurements 20m
      Speaker: Jonathan Butterworth (University College London (UK))
    • 10:35 11:00
      Coffee & tea break 25m
    • 11:00 13:00
      Using the LHC results: short contributions
      • 11:00
        The Gauge-Higgs Legacy of the LHC Run I 10m
        Speaker: Juan Gonzalez Fraile (Universitaet Heidelberg)
      • 11:13
        Same sign dilepton signals of wide composite vector resonances 10m
        Speaker: Daniele Barducci (Unite Reseaux du CNRS (FR))
      • 11:26
        Dilepton constraints in the Inert Doublet Model 10m
        Speaker: Andreas Goudelis (HEPHY Vienna)
      • 11:39
        Hunting for neutral, long-lived exotica at the LHC using a missing transverse energy signature 10m
        Speaker: Marc Thomas (Southampton University)
      • 11:52
        Combination of Run-1 Exotic Searches in Diboson Final States at the LHC 10m
        Speaker: Maxime Gouzevitch (Universite Claude Bernard-Lyon I (FR))
      • 12:05
        Constraining momentum dependent dark matter interactions with monojet searches at the LHC 10m
        Speaker: Dipan Sengupta (LPSC Grenoble)
      • 12:18
        On the coverage of the pMSSM by Simplified Model results 10m
        Speaker: Ursula Laa (LPSC Grenoble)
      • 12:31
        Exploration of simplified top-philic models 10m
        Speaker: Kentarou Mawatari (LPSC Grenoble)
      • 12:44
        First interpretation of 13 TeV supersymmetry searches in the pMSSM 15m
        Speaker: Jesse Liu (University of Oxford)
    • 13:00 14:30
      Lunch break 1h 30m
    • 14:30 16:00
      General discussion

      General discussion of
      - How to use the experimental results; more discussion on what is missing
      - Efforts towards making analysis implementations sharable between tools
      - What physics feedback we can give to the experiments so they see a benefit for themselves
      - Structuring future activities of this workshop/forum

Your browser is out of date!

If you are using Internet Explorer, please use Firefox, Chrome or Edge instead.

Otherwise, please update your browser to the latest version to use Indico without problems.