Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB
Oct 13 – 18, 2019
Lafodia Sea Resort, Lopud Island, Croatia
Europe/Zurich timezone

Development of the radiation hard high-speed monolithic CMOS sensors for the ATLAS experiment at the HL-LHC

Oct 15, 2019, 2:00 PM
Lafodia Sea Resort, Lopud Island, Croatia

Lafodia Sea Resort, Lopud Island, Croatia


Patrick Moriishi Freeman (University of Birmingham (GB))


The upgrade of the ATLAS tracking detector for the High-Luminosity Large Hadron Collider at CERN requires the development of novel radiation hard silicon sensor technologies.
The MALTA Monolithic Active Pixel Sensor prototypes have been developed with the 180 nm TowerJazz CMOS imaging technology. This combines the engineering of high-resistivity substrates with on-chip high-voltage biasing to achieve a large depleted active sensor volumes, to meet the radiation hardness requirements of the outer barrel layers of the ATLAS ITK Pixel detector (1.5E15 1 MeV neq/cm2). MALTA combines low noise (ENC < 20 e) and low power operation (1 uW / pixel) with a fast signal response (25 ns bunch crossing) in small pixel size (36.4 x 36.4 um2), and a small collection electrode (3 um), with a novel high-speed asynchronous readout architecture to cope with the high hit rates expected at HL-LHC.
The latest developments, embedded in so-called Mini-MALTA chip, address the issues observed in previous designs to meet the desired radiation hardness requirements. This contribution will summarize the design and recent improvements of this technology, together with the measurements of analog and digital performance, as obtained in lab tests and radioactive source tests.

Primary author


Ignacio Asensi Tortajada (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Prof. Daniela Bortoletto (University of Oxford (GB)) Siddharth Bhat (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Universite , CNRS/IN2P3) Roberto Cardella (CERN) Ivan Dario Caicedo Sierra (University of Bonn (DE)) Craig Buttar (University of Glasgow (GB)) Ivan Berdalovic (CERN) Florian Dachs (Vienna University of Technology (AT)) Valerio Dao (CERN) Mateusz Dyndal (CERN) Leyre Flores Sanz De Acedo (University of Glasgow (GB)) Patrick Moriishi Freeman (University of Birmingham (GB)) Amr Habib (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Francesco Piro (CERN) Marlon B. Barbero (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Bojan Hiti (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Magdalena Munker (CERN) Konstantinos Moustakas (University of Bonn (DE)) Thanushan Kugathasan (CERN) Heinz Pernegger (CERN) Petra Riedler (CERN) Enrico Junior Schioppa (CERN) Abhishek Sharma (University of Oxford (GB)) Lluis Simon Argemi (University of Glasgow (GB)) Walter Snoeys (CERN) Tomislav Suligoj (University of Zagreb) Philippe Schwemling (CEA/IRFU,Centre d'etude de Saclay Gif-sur-Yvette (FR)) Yavuz Degerli (Université Paris-Saclay (FR)) Tianyang Wang (University of Bonn (DE)) Norbert Wermes (University of Bonn (DE)) Tomasz Hemperek (University of Bonn (DE))

Presentation materials