Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB
Oct 13 – 18, 2019
Lafodia Sea Resort, Lopud Island, Croatia
Europe/Zurich timezone

Beam test measurements of radiation hard monolithic CMOS sensors for the ATLAS experiment at the HL-LHC

Not scheduled
Lafodia Sea Resort, Lopud Island, Croatia

Lafodia Sea Resort, Lopud Island, Croatia



Maria Mironova (University of Oxford (GB))


Monolithic Active Pixel Sensor prototypes developed in the TowerJazz 180 nm CMOS imaging process have been designed in the context of the ATLAS upgrade Phase-II at the High-Luminosity LHC. These are characterized by a small collection electrode design (3 um), and a small pixel size (36.4 um), on high resistivity substrates and large voltage bias. The latest prototype of this technology, so-called Mini-MALTA, addresses the pixel in-efficiencies observed in previous designs to meet the radiation hardness requirements. This contribution will highlight recent results from characterization of the sensors in particle beam tests, where full efficiency up to 1E15 neq/cm2 and 70 Mrad is observed.

Primary author


Ignacio Asensi Tortajada (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Daniela Bortoletto (University of Oxford (GB)) Siddharth Bhat (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Universite , CNRS/IN2P3) Ivan Berdalovic (CERN) Craig Buttar (University of Glasgow (GB)) Ivan Dario Caicedo Sierra (University of Bonn (DE)) Roberto Cardella (CERN) Florian Dachs (Vienna University of Technology (AT)) Valerio Dao (CERN) Leyre Flores Sanz De Acedo (University of Glasgow (GB)) Patrick Moriishi Freeman (University of Birmingham (GB)) Amr Habib (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Marlon B. Barbero (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Francesco Piro (CERN) Bojan Hiti (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Thanushan Kugathasan (CERN) Konstantinos Moustakas (University of Bonn (DE)) Magdalena Munker (CERN) Heinz Pernegger (CERN) Petra Riedler (CERN) Enrico Junior Schioppa (CERN) Abhishek Sharma (University of Oxford (GB)) Lluis Simon Argemi (University of Glasgow (GB)) Walter Snoeys (CERN) Carlos Solans Sanchez (CERN) Tomislav Suligoj (University of Zagreb) Philippe Schwemling (CEA/IRFU,Centre d'etude de Saclay Gif-sur-Yvette (FR)) Yavuz Degerli (Université Paris-Saclay (FR)) Tianyang Wang (University of Bonn (DE)) Norbert Wermes (University of Bonn (DE)) Tomasz Hemperek (University of Bonn (DE)) Maria Mironova (University of Oxford (GB))

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.