28 July 2020 to 6 August 2020
virtual conference
Europe/Prague timezone

Next-generation ultra-compact calorimeters based on oriented crystals

30 Jul 2020, 11:45
virtual conference

virtual conference

Talk 13. Detectors for Future Facilities (incl. HL-LHC), R&D, Novel Techniques Detectors for Future Facilities (incl. HL-LHC), R&D, Novel Techniques


Mattia Soldani (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT))


Scintillating crystal calorimeters provide unparalleled resolution in measuring the energy of electromagnetic particles. Recent experiments performed at CERN and DESY beamlines by the AXIAL/ELIOT collaboration demonstrated a significant reduction in the radiation length inside PbWO$_4$, the material used for the CMS ECAL, observed when the incident particle trajectory is aligned with a crystal axis within $\sim 0.1^{\circ}$. This remarkable effect, being observed over the wide energy range from a few GeV to $1$ TeV or higher, paves the way for the development of an innovative calorimeter based on oriented crystals, featuring a design significantly more compact than currently achievable while rivaling the current state of the art in terms of energy resolution in the range of interest for present and future forward detectors (such as the KLEVER Small Angle Calorimeter at CERN SPS), beam dumps for light dark matter search and source-pointing space-borne $\gamma$-ray telescopes.

Secondary track (number) 12

Primary authors

Alessandro Berra (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Alexei Sytov (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT)) Alice Levkovitch Andrea Mazzolari (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT)) Ms Claudia Brizzolari (Università degli Studi dell'Insubria) Davide De Salvador (Universita e INFN (IT)) Enrico Bagli (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT)) Evgeniy Lutsenko (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Gianluca Cavoto (Sapienza Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Giovanni Ballerini (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Laura Bandiera (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT)) Luca Bomben (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Marco Romagnoni (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT)) Matthew Moulson (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT)) Mattia Soldani (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT)) Michela Prest (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Nicola Argiolas (Universita & INFN (IT)) Riccardo Camattari (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT)) Valerio Mascagna (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Victor Tikhomirov (BSU) Viktar Haurylavets (Institut for Nuclear Problems, Belarusian State University) Vincenzo Guidi (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT))

Presentation materials