May 24 – 28, 2021
America/Vancouver timezone

Latest developments and characterisation results of DMAPS in TowerJazz 180nm for High Luminosity LHC

May 25, 2021, 5:00 AM
Poster Sensors: Solid-state position sensors Sensor Posters: SS Position


Leyre Flores Sanz De Acedo (University of Glasgow (GB))


The last couple of years have seen the development of Depleted Monolithic Active Pixel Sensors (DMAPS) fabricated in TowerJazz 180nm with a process modification to increase the radiation tolerance. While many of MAPS developments focus on low radiation environment, we have taken the development to high radiation environment like pp-experiments at High Luminosity LHC. DMAPS are a cost effective and lightweight alternative to state-of-the-art hybrid detectors if they can fulfil the given requirements for radiation hardness, signal response time and hit rate capability. The MALTA and Mini-MALTA sensors have shown excellent detection efficiency after irradiation to the life time dose expected at the outer layers of the ITK. Our development focuses on providing large pixel matrixes with excellent time resolution (<2ns) and tracking. This talk will discuss characterisation results of the DMAPS devices with special focus on the new MALTA2 sensor and will show the path of future developments.

TIPP2020 abstract resubmission? No, this is an entirely new submission.

Primary author

Leyre Flores Sanz De Acedo (University of Glasgow (GB))


Abhishek Sharma (University of Oxford (GB)) Andrea Gabrielli (CERN) Carlos Solans Sanchez (CERN) Craig Buttar (University of Glasgow (GB)) Prof. Daniela Bortoletto (University of Oxford (GB)) Dominik Dobrijevic (University of Zagreb (HR)) Florian Dachs (CERN) Francesco Piro (EPFL - Ecole Polytechnique Federale Lausanne (CH)) Heidi Sandaker (University of Oslo (NO)) Heinz Pernegger (CERN) Ignacio Asensi Tortajada (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Jose Torres Pais (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Mateusz Dyndal (AGH UST Krakow) Milou Van Rijnbach (University of Oslo (NO)) Patrick Moriishi Freeman (University of Birmingham (GB)) Petra Riedler (CERN) Philip Patrick Allport (University of Birmingham (UK)) Dr Roberto Cardella (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Tomislav Suligoj (University of Zagreb) Valerio Dao (CERN) Walter Snoeys (CERN)

Presentation materials