13th Vienna Central European Seminar (VCES) on Particle Physics and Quantum Field Theory

University of Vienna – SKY Lounge Oskar-Morgenstern-Platz 1 1090 Vienna Austria


The 13th Central European Seminar on Particle Physics and Quantum Field Theory, November 30 - December 1, 2017 at the University of Vienna, 1090 Vienna, Austria, will be dedicated to the topic Indirect Searches for New Physics: Fifth Forces, Scalars and Massive Neutrinos.

The meeting is jointly organized by the University of Vienna, HEPHY and TU Wien, and supported by the Faculty of Physics of the University of Vienna, and the FWF doctoral school Particles and Interactions.

The seminar series was created 2004 and is intended to provide stimulating interactions between leading researchers and promising junior physicists. A considerable number of junior scientists participate in these meetings, and we receive special grants for them covering the hotel and part of the local expenses (see below). We particularly invite junior participants, including advanced graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and junior faculty to attend the meeting.

The conference is dealing with symmetry breaking

Hidden symmetrie breaking, 3D effect in this image

Do you see it?

Magic Eye: spontaneous symmetry breaking

©2017 Magic Eye Inc.


Hold the center of the (printed) image right up to your nose. The image should be blurry. Stare as though you are looking through the image. Very slowly move the image away from your face until you begin to see depth. Now hold the image still, try not to blink, and the hidden illusion will magically appear. The longer you look, the clearer the illusion becomes.
Click on the image to see a hidden Higgs potential in 3D effect.


Junior Scientists

We strongly encourage graduate students and postdoctoral-fellows to contribute to the seminar with posters. The applications will be screened, and successful applicants (~10) can receive financial support to participate. Within the “Poster Flash” session, we will give these poster authors the possibility to present their poster to the audience in a 3-5 min short presentation. The conference committee will select these contributions based on the originality and impact of the research presented. Applications should be submitted by email before Oct 15 to ati.vces17@tuwien.ac.at.


Confirmed invited Speakers

Eric Adelberger (University of Washington)
Steven D. Bass (Jagiellonian University Krakow)
Philippe Brax (CEA France)
Ricardo Decca (IUPUI Indianapolis)
Pedro Ferreira (University of Oxford)
Ferruccio Feruglio (INFN Padua)
Carlo Giunti (INFN Torino)
Philipp Haslinger (University of California at Berkeley)
Fred Jegerlehner (Humbold-Universität zu Berlin)
Suchita Kulkarni  (Austrian Academy of Sciences)
Guillaume Pignol (CNRS-IN2P3 Grenoble)
Levon Pogosian (Simon Fraser University Vancouver)
Thomas Schwetz-Mangold (Karlsruhe KIT)
Mikhail Shaposhnikov (EPF Lausanne)
Torsten Soldner (ILL Grenoble)
Andreas Trautner (Universität Bonn)
Amol Upadhye (UNSW Sidney)
Erik Verlinde (University of Amsterdam)
Christof Wetterich (Universität Heidelberg)
Alexander Westphal (DESY Hamburg)



This year's venue will be the SKY Lounge of the University of Vienna, Oskar-Morgenstern-Platz 1, 1090 Vienna, Austria.


Conference fee

The conference fee is 50 EUR and is to be paid in cash at the registration desk. The conference fee is waived for invited speaker.


Organzing Committee

Hartmut Abele
Walter Grimus
Mario Pitschmann
Barbara Stros
Robert Jandrasits
Simone Krüger
Brigitte De Monte
Michael Zawisky

Supported by:




  • Alessio Barbensi
  • Alexander Westphal
  • Alfred Bartl
  • Amol Upadhye
  • Andras Laszlo
  • Andre Hoang
  • Andreas Banlaki
  • Andreas Doblhammer
  • Andreas Ipp
  • Andreas Trautner
  • Andrei Ivanov
  • Angelika Widl
  • Anish Ghoshal
  • Anton Rebhan
  • bahaa Ilyas
  • Bulent Demirel
  • Carlo Giunti
  • Christof Wetterich
  • Christoph Regner
  • Christopher Lepenik
  • Clara Taruggi
  • Claude Amsler
  • Daniel Grumiller
  • Daniel Lechner
  • Daniel Samitz
  • Daniel Spitzbart
  • Dietmar Kuhn
  • Dylan Harries
  • Eberhard Widmann
  • Elke Aeikens
  • Eniko Regos
  • Eric Adelberger
  • Farhad Izadi
  • Ferruccio Feruglio
  • Franz Mandl
  • Fred Jegerlehner
  • Gabor Cynolter
  • Gabriel Sommer
  • Gerhard Ecker
  • Guillaume Pignol
  • Hanno Marius Filter
  • Harold Steinacker
  • Hartmut Abele
  • Helmut Neufeld
  • Helmuth Hüffel
  • Herbert Rohringer
  • Jiri Horejsi
  • Jiří Formánek
  • Joachim Bosina
  • Joachim Galler
  • Joao Penedo
  • Jochen Schieck
  • John Nana Yaw Okyere
  • Josef Pradler
  • Kamal Barghout
  • Karl Landsteiner
  • Karol Kampf
  • kwame appiah
  • Lasha Berezhiani
  • Levon Pogosian
  • Lukas Semmelrock
  • Manfred Jeitler
  • Manuel Fink
  • marco Simonetti
  • Mario Pitschmann
  • Martin Zdráhal
  • Mateusz Zarucki
  • Maximilian Löschner
  • Michael Klopf
  • Michael Lanschützer
  • Michael Zawisky
  • Michal Siran
  • Michele Corvino
  • Mikhail Shaposhnikov
  • Moritz Preisser
  • Ole Trinhammer
  • Orchidea Maria Lecian
  • Pablo Sanchez-Puertas
  • Pedro Ferreira
  • Peter Carny
  • Peter Matak
  • Peter Salajka
  • Philipp Haslinger
  • Philipp Stanzer
  • philippe brax
  • Ricardo Decca
  • Richard Wagner
  • Rudolf Golubich
  • Samuel Beznák
  • Sergey Sukhoruchkin
  • Steven Bass
  • Suchita Kulkarni
  • Tanja Rindler-Daller
  • Thomas Gajdosik
  • Thomas Schwetz
  • Timm Wrase
  • Timo Kärkkäinen
  • Tobias Rechberger
  • Tomas Kadavy
  • Tomáš Blažek
  • Torsten Soldner
  • Ulrike Kraemmer
  • Walid Ahmed Mian
  • Walter Grimus
  • Wenzel Kersten
  • Wilfried Mach
  • Wojciech Flieger
  • Wolfgang Lucha
  • Wolfgang Waltenberger
  • Zuzana Sinska
Conference office