Feb 19 – 21, 2018
Max-Planck-Institut für Physik, Munich
Europe/Zurich timezone

EDET DH80K- A DEPFET based Ultra High Speed Camera System for TEM Direct Electron Imaging

Not scheduled
Max-Planck-Institut für Physik, Munich

Max-Planck-Institut für Physik, Munich

Max-Planck-Institut für Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) Föhringer Ring 6 80805 München


Dr Johannes Treis (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory)


We present a camera system for high time-resolved direct electron imaging on a TEM furnished with a pulsed electron source to observe dynamic processes in real space. The sensors use an SOI detector substrate with 50 $\mu$ to 30 $\mu$ thickness. The high intensity of the electron source requires tailored DEPFET devices with inherently high signal-to-noise, high speed readout capability, and nonlinear response matching the high dynamic range, arranged in arrays of 512 x 512 pixels with 60 x 60 $\mu^2$ size. Readout is done in 4-row parallel rolling-shutter mode; customized multichannel readout ASICs read a DEPFET array in 12.8 $\mu$s, corresponding to a maximum source pulse frequency of 80 kHz, and digitize the data with 8 bit. The data stream is serialized and buffered by custom ICs with sufficient memory for a burst of 100 frames. In this way, stroboscopic movies can be recorded at a time resolution of 13$\mu$s. The subsequent DAQ components permit a burst rate of up to 100 bursts per second. All ASICs are bump bonded to the substrate of the detector array itself, which is provided with the corresponding metal track system to form a ultra- compact all-silicon-module (ASM). Each ASM, combined with individual mechanical support, electrical services and readout electronics, is an independent subsystem. The complete focal plane with its 3 x 3 cm$^2$ area consists of four tile modules integrated on a common baseplate optimized for low background and thermal management within a customized vacuum box fitting all prevalent TEM types.

Primary authors

Dr Johannes Treis (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory) Laci Andricek (MPG Semiconductor Lab) Ibrahim Dourki (Max-Planck-Institute for Structure and Dynamics of Matter) Dr Epp Sascha (Max-Planck-Institute for Structure and Dynamics of Matter) Djiordje Gitaric (Max-Planck-Institute for Structure and Dynamics of Matter) Christian Koffmane (MPI für Physik) Silvia Krivokuca (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory) Prof. Dwayne Miller (Max-Planck-Institute for Structure and Dynamics of Matter) Jelena Ninkovic (MPG Halbleiterlabor) Ivan Peric (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Mitja Predikaka Dr Eduard Prinker (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory) Rainer Richter (Halbleiterlabor der MPG) Gerhard Schaller (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory) Dr Florian Schopper (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory) Eva Tafelmayer (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory) Andreas Wassatsch (MPI Physik) Fabian Westermeier (Max-Planck-Institute for Structure and Dynamics of Matter) Christian Zirr (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.