Taming the accuracy of event generators

Zoom Only (CERN)

Zoom Only


Pier Francesco Monni (CERN)

At the dawn of the precision era at the LHC, Monte Carlo Event 
Generators constitute the main bridge between theory and experiments. In 
this scenario, it becomes paramount to understand quantitatively the 
perturbative accuracy of the underlying algorithms in view of assessing 
precisely their theory uncertainty, and of formulating new methods to 
achieve higher perturbative accuracy in the simulations. In parallel, 
this theoretical progress crucially requires an efficient exploitation 
of modern computing technology to address the substantial CPU demand for 
event simulations at modern collider experiments. The goal of this 
workshop is to bring together leading experts in the field to analyse 
recent progress and encourage new collaborations to tackle the main open 

Organizers: Silvia Ferrario Ravasio (IPPP, Durham), Pier Monni (CERN), Stefan Prestel (Lund Univ.), Emanuele Re (LAPTH, Annecy), Peter Richardson (CERN).

Application deadline : March 29, 2020 h23:59


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the workshop will be divided into two sessions as follows:

  •  A one-week virtual workshop in the period 29 June - 3 July 2020. This will serve as a kick-off meeting, and to trigger discussions that can be continued in the next session.
  •  A one-week physical workshop in the period 23 - 27 August 2021, where we will have more in-depth discussions about the topics triggered by the kick-off meeting. 
  • Alexander Karlberg
  • Andrea Banfi
  • Andreas Papaefstathiou
  • Andrzej Siodmok
  • Basem El-Menoufi
  • Bryan Webber
  • Carlo Oleari
  • Christian Gutschow
  • Christian Preuss
  • Daniel Reichelt
  • Davide Napoletano
  • Emanuele Re
  • Enrico Bothmann
  • Frederic Dreyer
  • Gavin Bewick
  • Gavin Salam
  • Giovanni Limatola
  • Giuseppe Bozzi
  • Gregory Soyez
  • Jack Holguin
  • Jeffrey Forshaw
  • Joey Huston
  • Jonathan Gaunt
  • Keith Hamilton
  • Leif Gellersen
  • Luca Rottoli
  • Ludovic Scyboz
  • Malin Sjodahl
  • Marek Schoenherr
  • Matthew Lim
  • Michael Seymour
  • Michelangelo Mangano
  • Mrinal Dasgupta
  • Oleh Fedkevych
  • Paolo Nason
  • Paolo Torrielli
  • Peter Richardson
  • Pier Monni
  • Rob Verheyen
  • Robert Szafron
  • Rok Medves
  • Silvia Ferrario Ravasio
  • Simon Platzer
  • Simone Alioli
  • Simone Amoroso
  • Simone Marzani
  • Skands Peter
  • Stefan Höche
  • Stefan Prestel
  • Stefano Frixione
  • Steffen Schumann
  • Tania Robens
  • Thomas Becher
  • Torbjörn Sjöstrand
  • Vladimir Kovalenko
  • Zoltan Nagy
TH workshop secretariat