Feb 19 – 21, 2018
Max-Planck-Institut für Physik, Munich
Europe/Zurich timezone

Depleted monolithic CMOS pixels using column drain readout for the ATLAS Inner Tracker

Not scheduled
Max-Planck-Institut für Physik, Munich

Max-Planck-Institut für Physik, Munich

Max-Planck-Institut für Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) Föhringer Ring 6 80805 München


Tianyang Wang (University of Bonn (DE))


The Inner Detector of the ATLAS experiment will be replaced by a new Inner Tracker (ITk) after the high-luminosity upgrade of LHC, which requires major improvements of the silicon pixel detectors in terms of radiation hardness, rate capability, etc. Monolithic CMOS pixels with depleted sensing volume (DMAPS) are part of the R&D program for the ITk outer pixel layers. Manufacturing these sensors in a commercial HV/HR CMOS process permits fast charge collection by drift and high volume production at affordable cost.

This work jointly presents two DMAPS prototypes, namely LF-Monopix01 and TJ-Monopix. They both integrate full readout electronics on the sensor substrate, employing the column drain readout architecture. LF-Monopix01 is a realization of the so called large fill-factor design in a 150nm CMOS process, which has proven to be a radiation hard approach thanks to the large charge collection electrode. The characterization of LF-Monopix01 has been performed both in lab and in test beams, showing a stable operational threshold <2000e$^-$ and detection efficiency ~99% even for chip samples after fluence of 10$^{15}$n$_{eq}$ /cm$^2$. TJ-Monopix is a small fill factor design in a 180nm CMOS technology. By using an innovative modified process, fully depleted sensing volume is expected despite a small collection electrode used. The aim of using small electrodes is to have an ultra low power analog front-end design, thus reducing significantly the total sensor power consumption. The wafers for TJ-Monopix were received from the foundry, and first measurement is expected to start in two weeks after chip dicing.

Primary authors

Tianyang Wang (University of Bonn (DE)) Ivan Dario Caicedo Sierra (University of Bonn (DE)) Tomasz Hemperek (University of Bonn (DE)) Toko Hirono (University of Bonn (DE)) Norbert Wermes (University of Bonn (DE)) Piotr Rymaszewski (University of Bonn (DE)) David-Leon Pohl (University of Bonn (DE)) Konstantinos Moustakas (University of Bonn (DE)) Hans Krueger (University of Bonn) Fabian Huegging (University of Bonn (DE)) Marlon B. Barbero (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Siddharth Bhat (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Universite , CNRS/IN2P3) Patrick Breugnon (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Zongde Chen (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Universite, CNRS/IN2P3) Stephanie Godiot (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Mr Patrick Pangaud (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Alexandre Rozanov (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Ivan Berdalovic (CERN) Roberto Cardella (CERN) Thanushan Kugathasan (CERN) Mr Cesar Augusto Marin Tobon (CERN) Heinz Pernegger (CERN) Walter Snoeys (CERN) Yavuz Degerli (Université Paris-Saclay (FR)) Fabrice Guilloux (Université Paris-Saclay (FR)) Philippe Schwemling (CEA/IRFU,Centre d'etude de Saclay Gif-sur-Yvette (FR))

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.