The 40th International Symposium on Physics in Collision 2021

Lecture Hall (Aachen, Germany)

Lecture Hall

Aachen, Germany

C.A.R.L, Claßenstraße 11, 52072 Aachen, Germany
Achim Stahl (Rheinisch Westfaelische Tech. Hoch. (DE))

Rescheduled for 2021 due to COVID-19

We are pleased to announce the 40th International Symposium on Physics in Collision (PIC 2020) at the RWTH Aachen University in Aachen Germany, September 14th - 17th, 2021. 

The International Symposium on Physics in Collision is a conference series that began in 1981 in Blacksburg, Virginia, USA. The program of the symposium is composed of invited talks and contributions in poster session. Invited speakers will review and update key topics in elementary-particle physics in which new results have been published in the last year or are reasonably expected to be so before the next symposium. The aim of presentations is to encourage informal discussions of new experimental results and their implications. The topics at symposia cover a wide range of physics subjects from accelerator-based particle physics to astroparticle physics.

A poster session is open to contributions from all participants. Short talks in plenary session may be allocated to selected posters. All abstracts for posters having potential interest to the particle-physics community are welcome. This includes topics such as current experimental measurements, detectors, future experiments and facilities, theoretical ideas, etc., a broader range of topics than that of the plenary invited talks. Accepted posters will be displayed during the conference. Poster acceptance will be based on abstracts submitted to the organizers.

Homepage of the symposium:

Registration Form
  • Achim Stahl
  • Ana Rosario Cueto Gomez
  • Anton Huber
  • Apeksha Singhal
  • Asma Hadef
  • Christophe Royon
  • David Arutinov
  • Ed Porter
  • Emma Torro Pastor
  • Fakhira Afzal
  • Federica Colombina
  • Florian Rössing
  • Francis Bernardeau
  • Frank Nerling
  • Hale Sert
  • Hanwen Wang
  • Jing Liu
  • John Andrew Hallford
  • Jolanta Brodzicka
  • Julien Lesgourgues
  • Karim Massri
  • Katharina von Sturm
  • Kevin Gauda
  • Kirk Bays
  • Li Yuan
  • Lisa Schumacher
  • Livia Ludhova
  • Lukas Novotny
  • Magnus Schlösser
  • Marcello Rotondo
  • Marcin Misiaszek
  • Marco Selvi
  • Maria Marcisovska
  • Marie Germain
  • Matteo Sorbara
  • Meenakshi Narain
  • Michal Marcisovsky
  • Muhammad Ajaz
  • Nick Thamm
  • Nicola Orlando
  • Oliver Pilarczyk
  • Oliver Pooth
  • Pablo Fernandez Menendez
  • Peter Krizan
  • Philipp Kampmann
  • Philipp Soldin
  • Pranava Teja Surukuchi
  • Qianying Guo
  • Rezo Shanidze
  • Riccardo Bellan
  • Rosmarie Wirth
  • Sebastian Wuchterl
  • Soham Bhattacharya
  • Sonja Schneidewind
  • Stefan Knirck
  • Stefan Roth
  • Tadeas Bilka
  • Thomas Chen
  • Thomas Schwetz-Mangold
  • Tongguang Cheng
  • Vidhya Hariharan
  • Vincent Croft
  • Virginia Strati
  • Vitaliy Popov
  • Wolfgang Friedrich Lohmann
  • Ximo Poveda Torres
  • Ömer Penek
    • 8:30 AM 9:30 AM

      Gegistration of the participants

    • 9:30 AM 10:30 AM
      Plenary 1: Dark matter, dark sector and heavy ions

      Dark matter, dark sector & heavy ions

    • 10:30 AM 11:00 AM
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 11:00 AM 12:30 PM
      Plenary 1: Dark matter, dark sector and heavy ions

      Dark matter, dark sector & heavy ions

      • 11:00 AM
        Strong Interactions 45m
        Speaker: Mr Christoph Royon (University of Kansas)
    • 2:00 PM 4:00 PM
      Plenary 2: Flavour Physics

      Low energy physics: spectroscopy, kaon decays, light-flavors.

      • 2:00 PM
        Spectroscopy 30m
        Speaker: Mr Frank Nerling (GSI Darmstadt)
      • 2:30 PM
        Kaon Decays 30m
        Speaker: Mr Karim Massri (CERN)
      • 3:00 PM
        g - 2 30m
        Speaker: Mr Matteo Sorbara (Universita di Roma)
      • 3:30 PM
        Searches for Charged Lepton Flavour Violation 30m
        Speaker: Mr Marcello Rotondo (INFN Frascati)
    • 4:00 PM 4:30 PM
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 4:30 PM 6:00 PM
      Plenary 2: Flavour Physics

      Low energy physics: spectroscopy, kaon decays, light-flavors.

    • 9:00 AM 10:40 AM
      Plenary 4: Electroweak and Top Physics

      Standard Modell physics

      • 9:00 AM
        Higgs-boson production and decay 40m
        Speaker: Prafulla Behera (Indian Inst. of Technol. Madras)
      • 9:40 AM
        Higgs, Spin, Parity and CP 30m
        Speaker: Mr Ximo Poveda Torres (University of Valencia)
      • 10:10 AM
        Single and Multiple Top Production 30m
        Speaker: Mr Nicola Orlando (University of Barcelona)
    • 10:40 AM 11:00 AM
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 11:00 AM 12:30 PM
      Plenary 4: Electroweak and Top Physics

      Standard Modell physics

    • 2:00 PM 4:00 PM
      Plenary 3: Searches at the LHC 2

      Searches at the LHC

    • 4:00 PM 5:00 PM
      Coffee Break 1h
    • 4:15 PM 5:55 PM
      Posters: Poster Session

      Display of posters

      • 4:15 PM
        b jet identification at the CMS High Level Trigger at the HL-LHC 20m
        Speaker: Mr Sebastian Wuchterl
      • 4:15 PM
        First differential cross section measurement of the associated production of a single top quark and a Z boson at the CMS Experiment 20m
        Speaker: Ms Federica Colombina (DESY)
      • 4:15 PM
        Measurement of the CP-violating phase ‑phi_s in B0_s -> J/psi phi at ATLAS 20m
        Speaker: Mr Lukas Novotny
      • 4:35 PM
        Background reduction via angular-selective electron detection at KATRIN 20m
        Speaker: Ms Sonja Schneidewind
      • 4:35 PM
        Belle II Alignment in 2021 Data Reprocessing 20m
        Speaker: Mr Tadeas Bilka
      • 4:35 PM
        OSIRIS Subsystem des JUNO Experiments 20m
        Speaker: Mr Oliver Pilarczyk
      • 4:55 PM
        First directional detection of sub-MeV solar neutrinos in the liquid scintillator detector by Borexino 20m
        Speaker: Ms Apeksha Singhal (FZ Jülich)
      • 4:55 PM
        Physics potential of the JUNO experiment 20m
        Speaker: Mr Kampmann Philipp
      • 4:55 PM
        Search for keV-scale Sterile Neutrinos with first KATRIN Data 20m
        Speaker: Mr Anton Huber (KIT)
      • 5:15 PM
        First Experimental Evidence of CNO Cycle Solar Neutrinos by Borexino 20m
        Speaker: Mr Ömer Penek (FZ Jülich)
      • 5:15 PM
        LUXE: A new experiment to study non-perturbative QED in electron-LASER and photon-LASER collisions 20m
        Speakers: Ms Jenny List (DESY), Mr John Hallford (DESY / University College London)
      • 5:15 PM
        Towards a Software-Adaptable Receiver Chain for Particle Detectors 20m
        Speaker: Mr Florian Rössing (FZ Jülich)
      • 5:35 PM
        Characterization of the JUNO Large-PMT readout electronics 20m
        Speaker: Ms Katharina von Sturm (INFN Padova)
      • 5:35 PM
        The T2K ND280 upgrade 20m
        Speaker: Mr Nick Thamm (RWTH Aachen University)
    • 6:00 PM 7:30 PM
      Excursion: City Walk

      Visits to the city and the cathedral

    • 9:00 AM 10:40 AM
      Plenary 5: Particle Astrophysics

      Particle Astrophysics

    • 10:40 AM 11:10 AM
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 11:10 AM 12:30 PM
      Plenary 6: Neutrinos


      • 11:10 AM
        Long-Baseline Accelerator Neutrino Experiments 40m
        Speaker: Mr Kirk Bays ( Illinois Institute of Technology)
      • 11:50 AM
        Reactor Neutrino Experiments with km-Scale Baseline 30m
        Speaker: Mr Philipp Soldin (RWTH Aachen University)
    • 2:00 PM 3:40 PM
      Plenary 6: Neutrinos


    • 3:40 PM 4:00 PM
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 4:00 PM 5:40 PM
      Plenary 6: Neutrinos


    • 6:00 PM 7:00 PM
      Excursion: Visit of the Cathedral

      Visits to the city and the cathedral

    • 7:30 PM 9:30 PM
      Conference Dinner

      Conference Dinner