A Computing and Detector Simulation Framework for the HIBEAM/NNBAR Experimental Program at the ESS

May 18, 2021, 3:13 PM
Short Talk Distributed Computing, Data Management and Facilities Accelerators


Bernhard Meirose (Stockholms Universitet)


The HIBEAM/NNBAR program is a proposed two-stage experiment for the European Spallation Source focusing on searches for baryon number violation via processes in which neutrons convert to anti-neutrons. This paper outlines the computing and detector simulation framework for the HIBEAM/NNBAR program. The simulation is based on predictions of neutron flux and neutronics together with signal and background generation. A range of diverse simulation packages are incorporated, including Monte Carlo transport codes, neutron ray-trace simulation packages, and detector simulation software. The common simulation package in which these elements are interfaced together is discussed. Data management plans and triggers are also described.

Primary authors

Joshua Barrow (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Dept. of Physics, Cambridge, MA 02139, USA) Gustaaf Brooijmans (Columbia University (US)) José Ignacio Marquez Damian (European Spallation Source ERIC) Douglas Di Julio (European Spallation Source ERIC) Katherine Dunne (Stockholm University (SE)) Elena Golubeva (5Institute foNuclear Research, Russian Academy of Sciences) Prof. Yuri Kamyshkov (University of Tennessee) Thomas Kittelmann (ESS - European Spallation Source (SE)) Esben Bryndt Klinkby (DTU Physics, Technical University of Denmark, 2800 Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark) Zsofi Kokai (European Spallation Source ERIC, 225 92, Lund, Sweden) Jan Makkinje Bernhard Meirose (Stockholms Universitet) David Anthony Milstead (Stockholm University (SE)) Andre Asevedo Nepomuceno (Universidade Federal Fluminense) Anders Oskarsson (Lund University (SE)) Kemal Ramic (European Spallation Source ERIC, 225 92, Lund, Sweden) Nicola Rizzi (DTU Physics, Technical University of Denmark, 2800 Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark) Valentina Santoro (ESS) Samuel Silverstein (Stockholm University (SE)) Alan Takibayev (European Spallation Source ERIC) Richard Wagner (Institut Laue-Langevin, 38042 Grenoble, France) Sze Chun Yiu (Stockholm University) Luca Zanini (European Spallation Source ERIC) Olivier Zimmer (Institut Laue-Langevin, 38042 Grenoble, France)

Presentation materials