Aug 5 – 9, 2024
Kuldīga center high-school
Europe/Riga timezone

[Please, note, that the application deadline has been extended to June 14th]

About the event

The Baltic School of High-Energy Physics and Accelerator Technologies (BSHEPAT) is an annual summer school established by the CERN Baltic Group (CBG), taking place in one of the three Baltic states.

The 4th edition of the school, BSHEPAT'24, will be hosted, on behalf of the CBG, by the Institute of Particle Physics and Accelerator Techologies (IPPAT) of Riga Technical University and will take place in Kuldīga, Latvia, on the week of 5th to 9th of August.

This school is targetting doctoral students, in particular, those specialising in experimental high-energy physics. However, students specialising in other related fields such as theoretical particle physics, accelerator physics & technologies, and medical particle physics are also welcome. Similarly, applications by early-career post-doctoral researchers and master's students will also be considered.

The aim of BSHEPAT is to provide the participants with the opportunity to enjoy lectures on topics in high-energy particle physics theory and experiment, as well as particle accelerator physics, technologies and applications, given by world-class experts in their respective fields.

BSHEPAT'24 will be no exception, with the list of confirmed lecturers including:

  • Prof. Mark Thomson (University of Cambridge),
  • Prof. John Ellis (King's College London, United Kingdom & CERN),
  • Prof. Timothy Cohen (EPFL, Switzerland, University of Oregon, USA & CERN),
  • Prof. Klaus Desch (University of Bonn, Germany),
  • Dr Ramon Winterhalder (UCLouvain, Belgium),
  • Dr Maurizio Vretenar (CERN),
  • Prof. Leonid Rivkin (EPFL & PSI Switzerland),
  • Dr Jacqueline Keintzel (CERN).


The school is co-organized by the CERN Baltic Group, a collaboration of fourteen higher education and research institutions in the Baltic states, and by COST Action CA22130 - COMETA (COmprehensive Multiboson Experiment-Theory Action).


Scientific committee:

Alessandra Cappati (École polytechique, FR)
Arnaud Ferrari (Uppsala University, SE)
Claudius Krause (HEPHY, AT)
Flavia De Almeida Dias (NIKHEF, NL)
Giovanni Pelliccioli (Max-Planck Institute, DE)
Ilaria Brivio (University of Bologna, IT)
Kadri Özdemir (İzmir Bakırçay University, TR) 
Kārlis Dreimanis (RTU, LV)
Karolos Potamianos (University of Warwick, UK)
Matteo Presilla (KIT, DE)
Pietro Govoni (University of Milano-Bicocca, IT)
Ramona Groeber (University of Padova, IT)
Riccardo Finotello (CEA, FR)
Richard Ruiz (Institute of Nuclear Physics, PAN, PL)
Valentina Cairo (CERN)

Aurelijus Rinkevičius (VU, LT)
Brigita Abakevičienė (KTU, LT)
Christoph Schaefer (CERN)
Erika Korobeinikova (LSMU, LT)
Fjodor Sergeejev (TalTech, EE)
Gediminas Stankūnas (LEI, LT)
Jevgenijs Proskurins (RSU, LV)
Maurizio Vretenar (CERN)
Toms Torims (RTU, LV)

Local organising committee:

Kārlis Dreimanis (RTU, LV)
Gundega Selga Horste (RTU, LV)
Silva Vītola (RTU, LV)
Kristaps Paļskis (RTU, LV)

Registration and further information

In order to register for the event, please, fill out the registration form.

For further information you can contact the school secretariat at IPPAT via





Kuldīga center high-school
Mucenieku iela 6, Kuldīga, LV-3301
Registration for this event is currently open.