MPI@LHC 2012, Workshop on Multi-Parton Interactions at the LHC

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room (CERN)

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room


Show room on map
Hannes Jung (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron), Judith Katzy (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron), Michelangelo Mangano (CERN), Peter Skands (CERN)
Welcome to the fourth International Workshop on Multiple Partonic Interactions at the LHC. To join the mailing list and receive future information on the meeting, follow this link:
The aim of this workshop on Multiple Partonic Interactions (MPI) at the LHC is to raise the profile of MPI studies, summarising the legacy from the phenomenology at previous hadron colliders, reviewing the LHC results and fostering contact between the theoretical and experimental communities.

MPI are experiencing a growing popularity and are widely invoked to account for observations that cannot be explained otherwise: the activity of the Underlying Event, the rates for multiple heavy flavour production, the survival probability of large rapidity gaps in hard diffraction, etc. At the same time, the implementation of MPI effects in Monte Carlo generators is quickly proceeding at an increasing level of sophistication and complexity, which can have far reaching implications for LHC physics. The ultimate ambition of this workshop is to promote MPI as a unifying concept between apparently distinct lines of research, to profit from experimental progress in order to constrain their implementation in models, and to evaluate their impact on the LHC physics program.

Four working groups have been formed, to prepare, through 2012, material to be discussed at the Workshop:

  1. MPI and diffraction. Conveners: M.Poghosyan (ALICE), A.Pilkington (ATLAS), N.Cartiglia (CMS), D.Volyanskyy (LHCb), F.Ferro (TOTEM)
  2. MPI and small-x. Conveners: H.Abramowicz (ATLAS), H.Jung (CMS)
  3. MPI and double-parton scattering. Conveners: E.Dobson (ATLAS), A.Moraes (ATLAS), P.Bartalini (CMS), X.Janssen (CMS), R.Muresan (LHCb), D.Treleani
  4. MPI and MC development: J.Katzy, F.Krauss, Z.Nagy, T.Rogers (see

A preliminary meeting, organized at Tel Aviv University, is scheduled to take place on Oct 14-18:

For a compilation of commented references to relevant papers on the theory and experimental results on MPIs, see

Previous meetings in this series:
MPI@LHC'11 DESY, Hamburg, Germany
MPI@LHC'10 Glasgow, Scotland
MPI@LHC'08 Perugia, Italy

Information on access to CERN and laptop registration is available from

  • Aharon Levy
  • Akbari Jahan
  • alessandro ballestrero
  • Alexander Snigirev
  • Alexandre Léonard
  • Amir Rezaeian
  • Anatoli Fedynitch
  • Andrea Contu
  • Andrea Rossi
  • Andrew York
  • Andrzej Siodmok
  • Antoni Szczurek
  • Benoit Roland
  • boris blok
  • Carlos Pajares
  • Carsten Soegaard
  • Christina Mesropian
  • Claire Adam
  • Daniel Ostermeier
  • Daniele Treleani
  • David d'Enterria
  • Dawid Toton
  • Deepak Kar
  • Dermot Moran
  • Dmytro Volyanskyy
  • Doga Gulhan
  • Dokshitser Yury
  • Edmond Berger
  • Edward Boos
  • Eugene Levin
  • Eva Sicking
  • Ezio Maina
  • Fabrizio Ferro
  • Federico Ceccopieri
  • Frank Krauss
  • Fritz W. Bopp
  • Fulvio Piccinini
  • Gennnady Lykasov
  • George Siopsis
  • Giuseppe Latino
  • Guenter Grindhammer
  • Guido Montagna
  • Halina Abramowicz
  • Hans Van Haevermaet
  • Hendrik Hoeth
  • Iftach Sadeh
  • Igor Lokhtin
  • Ilknur Hos
  • Jan Kaspar
  • Joey Huston
  • Jonathan Gaunt
  • Judith Katzy
  • Jung Hannes
  • Klaus Werner
  • Korinna Zapp
  • Krzysztof Kutak
  • Livio Fano'
  • Luisa Alunni Solestizi
  • Manjit Kaur Lal
  • Mario MACRI
  • Mark Strikman
  • Martin Hentschinski
  • Martin Poghosyan
  • Mauro Chiesa
  • Michael Schmelling
  • Michelangelo Mangano
  • Miroslav Myska
  • Mohammed Zakaria
  • Nick van Remortel
  • Nikolay ZOTOV
  • Oldrich Kepka
  • Paolo Bartalini
  • Paolo Gunnellini
  • Patrick Spradlin
  • Peter Skands
  • Pierre Van Mechelen
  • Raluca Muresan
  • Ramandeep Kumar
  • Rebecca Chislett
  • Rick Field
  • Robert Ciesielski
  • Roberta Volpe
  • rohini godbole
  • Samantha Dooling
  • Sara Taheri Monfared
  • Sebastian Wahrmund
  • Sercan Sen
  • Sergey Baranov
  • Sergey Petrushanko
  • Stefano Lami
  • Sunil Bansal
  • Tanguy Pierog
  • Ted Rogers
  • Tomas Hreus
  • Tomas Kasemets
  • Tomislav Seva
  • Urs Wiedemann
  • Valeri Khoze
  • Valeria Prosperi
  • Victor Kim
  • Wouter Waalewijn
  • Zaida Conesa del Valle
  • Zongchang Yang