2016 CHIPP Annual Plenary Meeting and PhD/Postdoc Days

USI, Lugano

USI, Lugano

Università della Svizzera italiana Via Giuseppe Buffi 13 CH-6904 Lugano

Dear CHIPP colleagues,

CHIPP logoThe 2016 annual gathering of CHIPP, the Swiss Institute of Particle Physics, will take place in Lugano on 23–25 August 2016. This three-day conference is preceded by a CHIPP Board meeting on Monday, 22 August in the afternoon, followed by the screening of the "Particle Fever" movie in the evening, which will be open to the public and to which you are cordially invited.

The formal plenary meeting of the CHIPP association is on Tuesday morning. The award ceremony of the CHIPP Prize will take place in the afternoon followed by the Prize talk and highlights from ICHEP 2016. This will mark the start of the "CHIPP PhD/Postdoc days", where the young members of CHIPP get a chance to present their research work, either in short talks or posters. Poster sessions are scheduled on Tuesday late afternoon and on Wednesday during buffet lunch. The three most outstanding posters among all SPS sessions will get an award on Thursday morning.

SPSThis plenary meeting of CHIPP is held in the framework of the annual meeting of the Swiss Physical Society (SPS), as it was the case in Fribourg in 2014. At this occasion the CHIPP PhD/Postdoc days are merged with the so-called TASK parallel sessions of the SPS. All participants are encouraged to attend the SPS plenary sessions with high-quality invited speakers covering a wide range of physics topics and including this year a talk by Laura Baudis on the state-of-the-art in the direct search for dark matter.

The registration deadline is August 1st, 2016, but fixing accommodation early is important, as August is still holiday season in Lugano. A contingent of hotel rooms for conference participants has been reserved until 30 June, see details and modalities on accommodation.

We are looking forward to meeting you all in Lugano and wish us a pleasant and interesting joint CHIPP/SPS annual meeting.

Tatsuya Nakada (CHIPP Chair)
Hans Peter Beck (SPS-TASK section)