Advanced Low Emittance Rings Technology (ALERT) 2016 Workshop

Trieste, Italy

Trieste, Italy

SAVOIA EXCELSIOR PALACE Riva del Mandracchio, 4 34124 Trieste Italia

Trieste | 14-16 September 2016  

A workshop on Advanced Low Emittance Rings Technology (ALERT 2016) is organized by ELETTRA on the 14th and 16th of September 2016, as a series of the Low Emittance Rings (LOWεRING) Workshops, supported by the EUCARD2 project.

This will be the 2nd workshop on Low Emittance Rings technology after the one organized in the 2014 in Valencia.

The state of the art in the design of accelerator systems in light source storage rings has today many challenges and issues in common with those of linear collider damping rings and future e+/e-€ circular collider projects. A series of  workshops were made since 2010  aiming at strengthening the collaborations within the low emittance rings' community, including the LOWεRING collaboration network and the USR workshops community.

The goal of the ALERT2016 workshop is to bring together scientists but also industrial partners who are designing and building hardware for low emittance rings, with an emphasis on studies and experimental programs in existing rings and facilities. The impact of targeting and reaching ultra-low emittances to the design of technical systems will be addressed, including operational issues, manufacturing tolerances, calibration and stability/repeatability problems, in an environment dominated by synchrotron radiation.

With MAX IV in commissioning and ESRF II and Sirius in construction, this workshop will benefit from the technological solutions already tested at these labs and important lessons could be learned.

Workshop sessions will include:

  • Insertion devices (including also superconducting devices)
  • Magnets and alignment
  • Injection systems (kickers, multipoles etc)
  • RF systems,  choices and design
  • Vacuum systems and vacuum chambers
  • Feedback systems
  • Instrumentation

Proposals for contributions to the workshop should be addressed to one of the Scientific Committee members

Scientific Committee
Riccardo Bartolini
Raffaella Geometrante
Susanna Guiducci
Emanuel Karantzoulis
Ioannis Papaphilipou
Pantaleo Raimondi
Richard Walker
Hermann Schmickler
Pedro Fernandes Tavares
Ryutaro Nagaoka
Vlad Scarda


Local organizing committee
Emanuel Karantzoulis (chair)
Roberta Casson
Stefano Deiuri
Monica Maccari
Cristiana Roberti
Roberto Visintini


EuCARD-2 is co-funded by the partners and the European Commission under Capacities 7th Framework Programme, Grant Agreement 312453

  • Abolfazl Shahveh
  • Achim Hobl
  • Alessandro Fabris
  • Alexander Temnykh
  • Alexej Grudiev
  • Allan Gillespie
  • Amin Abdolvand
  • Anna Olsson
  • Axel Bernhard
  • Benoît Roche
  • Bruno Diviacco
  • Carolina Belver Aguilar
  • Christoph Steier
  • Conny Plato
  • Cristina Pasotti
  • Davide Castronovo
  • Dieter Einfeld
  • Eduardo Ramos
  • Emanuel Karantzoulis
  • esmaeil ahmadi
  • farhad saeidi
  • Fernandes Tavares PEDRO
  • Fernando Toral
  • Franz Bødker
  • Frederick Forest
  • Heiko Ehrlichmann
  • Henning Bach Christensen
  • James Citadini
  • Janne Holma
  • Joel Fuerst
  • John Byrd
  • John Fox
  • Ken Chow
  • Lars Malmgren
  • Laurent Nadolski
  • Marek Grabski
  • Mark Boland
  • Martin Johansson
  • Martin Ruprecht
  • Massamba DIOP
  • Matthew Cox
  • Michele Modena
  • miguel pretelli
  • mohamad Razazian
  • Nigel Hammond
  • Nikolay Mezentsev
  • Olle Torsteni
  • Paolo Manini
  • Peter Kuske
  • Pierre Lebasque
  • Qisheng Tang
  • Raffaella Geometrante
  • riccardo bartolini
  • Riccardo Signorato
  • Roberto Kersevan
  • Rolf Nilsson
  • Ryutaro Nagaoka
  • Samira Fatehi
  • Simone Di Mitri
  • Stefano Deiuri
  • Susanna Guiducci
  • Toshiyuki Mitsuhashi
  • Vlad Skarda
  • Wang Hongfei
  • Wolfgang Knitterscheidt
  • Yannis Papaphilippou
  • Åke Andersson