Gauge/Gravity Duality 2020 (Postponed to 2021)Postponed



Alexander Zhiboedov (CERN) , Julian Sonner (Universite de Geneve (CH))


Unfortunately, due to the restrictions connected to the response to the Covid-19 pandemic, we are cancelling this event in its current form. Instead we are postponing this conference to July 26-July 30, 2021 to be held again here at CERN. 



Gauge/Gravity Duality has established itself as a significant link between gravitation and quantum field theory. It provides a major tool for describing strongly coupled quantum systems. It relates concepts of information of black hole physics and quantum information theory. Moreover, it creates significant new links between quantum field theory and string theory. Previous conferences in this series have been held in Würzburg (2018), Florence (2015) and Munich (2013).

The aim of the conference is to explore all aspects of gauge/gravity duality, both applied and theoretical, and to generate an extensive exchange of ideas. 

At the conference, the topics to be discussed include gauge/gravity duality in the context of:
• Quantum information, 
• Applications to condensed matter physics, 
• Applications to particle physics and to cosmology, 
• Supergravity, integrability and the conformal bootstrap.
Postdocs and PhD students are particularly encouraged to apply for a parallel session talk (15+5 minutes) or for a poster.

Speakers include:

Jinbeom Bae Igor Klebanov*
Dongsu Bak Sungsik Lee
Raphael Bousso Rob Myers
Shira Chapman Ioannis Papadmitriou
Gil-Young Cho Natalia Pinzani Fokeeva
Bartek Czech Moshe Rozali
Atish Dabholkar * Koenraad Schalm
Netta Engelhardt* Charlotte Sleight
Blaise Goutéraux James Sparks
Veronika Hubeny Marika Taylor
Nabil Iqbal* Benjamin Withers

*to be confirmed


Johanna Erdmenger, Nick Evans, Jerome Gauntlett, Keun-Young Kim, Nakwoo Kim, Amit Sever, Sang-Jin Sin, Julian Sonner, Sasha Zhiboedov

This event is partly supported by the CERN-Korea theory collaboration program as well as the NCCR SwissMAP “The mathematics of physics”.


  • Arunabha Saha
  • Christiana Pantelidou
  • David Rodriguez
  • Debajyoti Sarkar
  • Eric Mefford
  • Gauntlett Jerome
  • Gordon Semenoff
  • Hongbao Zhang
  • Ioannis Matthaiakakis
  • Johanna Erdmenger
  • Joris Raeymaekers
  • Julian Sonner
  • Manus Visser
  • Marius Gerbershagen
  • Matteo Baggioli
  • Moshe Rozali
  • Nakwoo Kim
  • Northe Christian
  • Pawel Caputa
  • Raphael Bousso
  • Rene Meyer
  • Souvik Banerjee
Administrative Support
The agenda of this meeting is empty