Cosmology, Quantum Gravity, and Holography: the Interplay of Fundamental Concepts

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room (CERN)

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room


Show room on map
Eva Silverstein, Marko Simonovic (CERN), Shota Komatsu (CERN), Viktor Gorbenko (EPFL - Ecole Polytechnique Federale Lausanne (CH))

Early universe cosmology at the moment appears to be a uniquely positioned field in which we expect both new experimental results as well as fundamental theoretical discoveries since the effects of quantum gravity inevitably becomes important and a complete theory for it in the case of expanding spacetime is still missing. 

The goal of this two-week workshop is to bring together experts in various areas of theoretical cosmology and to explore the connections between more formal and more phenomenological sides of the subject. On the more "formal" side, there have been several recent developments in microscopic constructions of cosmological spacetimes using string theory and holography, lower-dimensional models of cosmology and in understanding non-perturbative properties of quantum fields in de Sitter space. On the "phenomenological" side, the new results include new techniques for computations of cosmological correlation functions, understanding of strong infrared effects, and effective theory of large scale structure. Even though the separation of theoretical physics into "formal" and "phenomenological" is rather superficial, there has not been much communication between the communities working on the above mentioned topics. The workshop aims to encourage new collaboration and a fruitful exchange of ideas. 

Organizers: Victor Gorbenko, Shota Komatsu, Eva Silverstein, Marko Simonovic


List of speakers:

  • Nima Arkani-Hamed
  • Andreas Blommaert
  • Tim Cohen
  • Jordan Cotler
  • Bruno De Luca
  • Frederik Denef
  • Lorenzo Di Pietro
  • Leonardo Senatore
  • Thomas Hertog
  • Mikhail Ivanov
  • Eiichiro Komatsu
  • Matthew Mccullough
  • Merhdad Mirbabayi
  • Joao Penedones
  • Geoff Penington
  • Guilherme Pimentel
  • Edgar Shaghoulian
  • Gonzalo Torroba
  • Beatrix Muhlmann
  • Aron Wall
  • Adriana Guerrero Menkara
  • Ahmed Sheta
  • Akhil Premkumar
  • Alessandro Fumagalli
  • Alex Belin
  • Algot Joel Karlsson
  • Ali Al Kadhim
  • Andreas Blommaert
  • Ankur Ankur
  • Antoine Vuignier
  • Aravinth Ram Kesavadoss
  • Aron Wall
  • Ashish Shukla
  • Ashoorioon Amjad
  • Ayngaran Thavanesan
  • Beatrix Muehlmann
  • Borna Salehian
  • Bruno De Luca De Luca
  • Clifford Burgess
  • Dionysios Anninos
  • Edgar Shaghoulian
  • Eiichiro Komatsu
  • Eva Silverstein
  • Felipe Figueroa
  • Frederik Denef
  • Geoff Penington
  • Gorbenko Victor
  • Guilherme Pimentel
  • Hajar Ebrahim
  • Halim Shaikh
  • Hervé Partouche
  • Jiaxin Qiao
  • Jonathan Riess
  • Jordan Cotler
  • Julian Sonner
  • Kamran Salehi Vaziri
  • Lee Sung Mook
  • Leo Schoots
  • leonardo senatore
  • Lorenzo Di Pietro
  • Manuel Loparco
  • Manus Visser
  • Marija Tomasevic
  • Marko Simonovic
  • Mattia Varrone
  • Mehrdad Mirbabayi
  • Mikhail Ivanov
  • Miok Park
  • Monireh ahmadpour
  • Oliver Janssen
  • Pan Li
  • Pietro Benetti Genolini
  • Sarthak Duary
  • Sayantika Bose
  • Sergio Ernesto Aguilar Gutierrez
  • Shadi Ali Ahmad
  • Shota Komatsu
  • Suvadeep Roy
  • Thomas Hertog
  • Veronica Sacchi
  • Victor Luca Iliesiu
  • Wolfgang Lerche
  • Xiang Zhao
  • +16
TH workshop secretariat