SWHEPPS 2016: Strategy Workshop on High-Energy Particle Physics in Switzerland

Seminarhotel am Aegerisee

Seminarhotel am Aegerisee

Seestrasse 10, 6314 Unterägeri Switzerland
Ben Kilminster (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)), Florencia Canelli (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)), Gilberto Colangelo (University of Bern), Giuseppe Iacobucci (Universite de Geneve (CH)), Guenther Dissertori (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (CH)), Rainer Wallny (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (CH)), Tatsuya Nakada (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (CH))

After the successful strategy workshop on astro-particle and neutrino physics (SWAPS 2014), the CHIPP Executive Board has proposed to have a similar workshop on “High-Energy Particle Physics”. This workshop will focus on CHIPP's activities in the so-called Pillar 1 and thus on the HEP frontier and also on the high-intensity and low-energy precision experiments. The workshop  also represents an ideal kick-off to prepare a Pillar 1 white paper. 


  • Adrian Signer
  • Alain Blondel
  • Alberto Cervelli
  • Aldo Antognini
  • Alessandro Bravar
  • Allan Clark
  • Andreas Crivellin
  • Andreas Knecht
  • Andrey Katz
  • André Rubbia
  • Angela Papa
  • Anna Sfyrla
  • Antonio Ereditato
  • Antonio Miucci
  • Ashutosh Kotwal
  • Aurelio Bay
  • Babis Anastasiou
  • Ben Kilminster
  • Bernhard Auchmann
  • Bernhard Lauss
  • Boris Mangano
  • Danek Kotlinski
  • David Barney
  • Didier Claude Contardo
  • Didier Ferrere
  • Florencia Canelli
  • Francesco Riva
  • Fred Blanc
  • Gilberto Colangelo
  • Gino Isidori
  • Giuseppe Iacobucci
  • Guido Haefeli
  • Günther Dissertori
  • Hans Peter Beck
  • John Paul Chou
  • Kirch Klaus
  • Konstantinos Theofilatos
  • Laura Baudis
  • Lea Caminada
  • Lenny Rivkin
  • Malte Hildebrandt
  • Marc Türler
  • Mark Tobin
  • Mauro Donega
  • Michael Spira
  • Michele Weber
  • Mike Seidel
  • Nicola Serra
  • Niklaus Berger
  • Olivier Schneider
  • Patrick Koppenburg
  • Philip Patrick Allport
  • Philipp Schmidt
  • Philippe Mermod
  • Rainer Wallny
  • Rasmus Ischebeck
  • Riccardo Barbieri
  • Riccardo Torre
  • Richard Hawkings
  • Roland Horisberger
  • Sergio Gonzalez Sevilla
  • Sinead Farrington
  • Stefano Augusto Pozzorini
  • Tatsuya Nakada
  • Teresa Montaruli
  • Terry Garvey
  • Tobias Golling
  • Ueli Straumann
  • vittorio del duca
  • Xin Wu
  • Zoltan Kunszt
    • 11:00 12:30
    • 12:30 13:45
      Buffet Lunch 1h 15m
    • 13:45 14:00
      Workshop Opening: Welcome
      Convener: Rainer Wallny (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (CH))
    • 14:00 15:30
      Higgs Physics
      Conveners: Florencia Canelli (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)), Michele Weber (Universitaet Bern (CH))
    • 15:30 16:00
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 16:00 18:00
      Future collider searches
      Conveners: Ben Kilminster (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)), Tobias Golling (Universite de Geneve (CH))
      • 16:00
        Introduction 5m
        Speaker: Ben Kilminster (Universitaet Zuerich (CH))
      • 16:05
        Implications of di-photon excess and future strategies for BSM searches at high-energies (theory/pheno) 35m
        Speaker: Riccardo Torre (EPFL, Lausanne)
      • 16:40
        BSM at the energy frontier (detector/boosted objects) 35m
        Speaker: Ashutosh Kotwal (Duke University (US))
      • 17:15
        Unconventional signatures 35m
        Speaker: John Paul Chou (Rutgers, State Univ. of New Jersey (US))
      • 17:50
        Summary 10m
        Speaker: Tobias Golling (Universite de Geneve (CH))
    • 18:00 19:30
      Discussion: Status of searches at the High Energy Frontier
      Conveners: Ben Kilminster (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)), Tobias Golling (Universite de Geneve (CH))
    • 19:30 22:00
      Apero and Dinner 2h 30m
    • 07:30 09:00
      Breakfast 1h 30m
    • 09:00 10:30
      Flavour Physics
      Conveners: Adrian Signer (Paul Scherrer Institut), Klaus Kirch (PSI), Olivier Schneider (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (CH))
      • 09:00
        Lepton Flavour Violation in heavy flavour decays + Lepton Flavour Universality 30m
        Speaker: Dr Patrick Koppenburg (Nikhef National institute for subatomic physics (NL))
      • 09:30
        Rare decays and the V-A structure of weak interactions (b -> s gamma, b -> s l+l-) 30m
        Speaker: Nicola Serra (Universitaet Zuerich (CH))
      • 10:00
        CP violation and CKM physics (in b-, c- and kaon decays) 30m
        Speaker: Fred Blanc (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (CH))
    • 10:30 11:00
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 11:00 12:30
      Low Energy Physics
      Conveners: Adrian Signer (Paul Scherrer Institut), Klaus Kirch (PSI), Olivier Schneider (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (CH))
      • 11:00
        Implications of the flavour anomalies 30m
        Speaker: Andreas Crivellin (Paul Scherrer Institut (CH))
      • 11:30
        Searches on charged Lepton Flavour Violation with muons and Time-reversal symmetry Violation with neutrons 30m
        Speaker: Angela Papa
      • 12:00
        Precision measurements with ultracold neutrons, muons, positrons, and antiprotons 30m
        Speaker: Andreas Knecht
    • 12:30 13:45
      Lunch 1h 15m
    • 13:45 14:00
      Workshop Photo Shoot: Photo:
    • 14:00 15:30
      Standard Model Physics
      Conveners: Florencia Canelli (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)), Michele Weber (Universitaet Bern (CH))
      • 14:00
        Experimental overview of the EW and QCD 30m
        Speaker: Konstantinos Theofilatos (ETH Zurich)
      • 14:30
        Top quark physics results and prospects 30m
        Speaker: Richard Hawkings (CERN)
      • 15:00
        Motivations for future precision studies of EW and Higgs physics 30m
        Speaker: Francesco Riva (CERN)
    • 15:30 16:00
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 16:00 18:00
      Theory including BSM connection to other fields
      Conveners: Gino Isidori (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)), Riccardo Rattazzi (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (CH)), Thomas Gehrmann (University of Zurich)
    • 18:00 19:30
      Discussion: Connections to other fields
      Convener: Gino Isidori (Universitaet Zuerich (CH))
    • 20:00 22:00
      Dinner 2h
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now