Orthodox Academy of Crete (OAC), Kolympari, Crete, Greece

Orthodox Academy of Crete (OAC), Kolympari, Crete, Greece

Alberto Accardi (Hampton U. and Jefferson Lab) , Alessandra Fantoni (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT)) , Cynthia Keppel (Jefferson Lab) , Georgios Fanourakis (Nat. Cent. for Sci. Res. Demokritos (GR)) , Gerassimos Petratos (Kent State University) , Mina Katramatou (Kent State University) , Zein-Eddine Meziani (Temple University)

"Spring" fresco, Minoan era Akrotiri, Santorini,  ~1500 BCE

While a tremendous amount of knowledge about the quark and gluon structure of the nucleon and nuclei has been accumulated in the four decades since the development of Quantum Chromodynamics, significant gaps remain, particularly in the valence quark region where the parton momentum fraction x is large. With the expectation of new data from the Jefferson Lab 12 GeV Science Program, as well as from collider and neutrino experiments, it is timely to review advances in our understanding of nucleon structure at high x and assess the possible impact of the new data. The workshop will discuss new theoretical ideas and suggestions for additional studies at present and future facilities, along with implications for related fields.  It will take place in Kolympari, on the Island of Crete, Greece, on August 16-21, 2019.  Kolympari is close to the city of Chania and its international airport.  The venue will be the Orthodox Academy of Crete.  The Workshop is open only to i) Ph.D. holders in experimental or theoretical subatomic physics employed by (or possessing official emeritus status at) accredited universities or national laboratories or other recognized academic/research institutions with subatomic physics programs, and ii) Graduate students working on their Ph.D. dissertation in subatomic physics.  For graduate students, the explicit endorsement of their academic research advisers for their participation is required. The Second Circular of the Workshop (which contains the names of the International Advisory Committee), as well as basic information on travel, lodging, and fees are given in pdf files below.  Also listed below are the members of the Organizing Committee of the Workshop. 

The Orthodox Academy of Crete (OAC), Kolympari, Crete, Greece


5th International Workshop on Nucleon Structure at Large Bjorken x
  • Abhay Deshpande
  • Alberto Accardi
  • Alessandra Fantoni
  • Alessandro Bacchetta
  • Allison Lung
  • Andrea Pocar
  • Anthony Thomas
  • Arie Bodek
  • Boris Kopeliovich
  • Chong Kim
  • Claire Gwenlan
  • Cynthia Keppel
  • Douglas Higinbotham
  • Edward Kinney
  • Elena Long
  • Florian Hauenstein
  • Gabriel Niculescu
  • Georgios Fanourakis
  • Gerassimos Petratos
  • Ian Cloet
  • Ingo Schienbein
  • Ioana Niculescu
  • Irina Potashnikova
  • Jamal Jalilian-Marian
  • Jan Friedrich
  • Jen-Chieh Peng
  • Jian-ping Chen
  • Julie Roche
  • Kawtar Hafidi
  • Krishna Kumar
  • Liuti Simonetta
  • Lubomir Pentchev
  • M. Eric Christy
  • Martha Constantinou
  • Mate Csanad
  • Michael Nycz
  • Mina Katramatou
  • Misak Sargsian
  • Or Hen
  • Rikutaro Yoshida
  • Roberto Petti
  • Ronald Gilman
  • Savvas Zafeiropoulos
  • Sebastian Kuhn
  • Sergey Kulagin
  • Simona Malace
  • Todd Averett
  • Tong Su
  • Tyler Hague
  • Vladimir Pascalutsa
  • Wally Melnitchouk
  • Whitney Armstrong
  • Willibald Plessas
  • Xianguo Lu
  • Xiaochao Zheng
  • Zein-Eddine Meziani