1st Workshop on High Energy Theory and Gender

4-3-006 - TH Conference Room (CERN)

4-3-006 - TH Conference Room


Show room on map

This workshop will both focus on recent developments in theoretical high energy physics and cosmology, and discuss issues of gender and equal opportunities in the field.

In addition to talks on nuclear and string theory, SM and BSM phenomenology, lattice field theory and cosmology, each day talks and panel discussions will be dedicated to research on gender in academia, with an aim to further the development and implementation of action plans to support women and other minorities in physics.

Since any positive change needs the support of the whole community we encourage everyone, men and women, junior and senior scientists, to participate in this workshop.


Links to previous similar workshops:

1st Workshop on String Theory and Gender

2nd Workshop on String Theory and Gender 

3rd Workshop on String Theory and Gender


Registration: There is no registration fee.  Applications to attend will be open until September 01, 2018, within constraints of available space. If you wish to give a short talk or poster please register by June 30, 2018.

Physics talks - confirmed speakers:

  • Ana Achucarro (Leiden U.) - String theory

  • Agnese Bissi (Uppsala U.) - AdS/CFT correspondence

  • Alejandra Castro (Amsterdam U.) - Black hole entropy

  • Laura Covi (Goettingen U.) - Cosmology

  • JiJi Fan (Brown U.) - BSM Phenomenology

  • Elvira Gamiz (Granada U.) - Lattice QCD & flavour physics

  • Silvia Pascoli (Durham U.) - Neutrino Physics

  • Naemi Rocco (University of Surrey) - Electron and neutrino scattering off nuclei

  • Tracy Slatyer (MIT) - Dark Matter

  • Maria Ubiali (Cambridge U., DAMTP) - Parton distributions from high precision collider data

  • Eleni Vryonidou (CERN) - SM Effective Field Theory

  • Korinna Zapp (LIP, Lisbon & CERN) - Heavy Ion Physics

Gender talks - confirmed speakers:

  • Marieke van den Brink (Nijmegen U.)

  • Julie Moote (UCL, London)

  • Yosef Nir (Weizmann Inst.)

  • Jessica Wade (Imperial College London)

  • a representative from CERN Diversity Office

International Advisory Committee:

  • Sonia Bacca (JGU Mainz)
  • Anna Ceresole (INFN Turin)
  • Valentina Forini (City, U. Of London and HU Berlin)
  • Rohini M. Godbole (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
  • Pilar Hernández (Valencia University, IFIC)
  • Maria Lledo (Valencia University, IFIC)
  • Prado Martin Moruno (Madrid University)
  • Yosef Nir (Weizmann Institute)
  • Michela Petrini (Paris, LPTHE)
  • Laura Reina (Florida State University)
  • Geraldine Servant (Universität Hamburg & DESY)

Organising Committee:

  • Gian Giudice (CERN)
  • Alessandra Gnecchi (CERN)
  • Mariana Grana (CEA/Saclay)
  • Gabriele Honecker (JGU Mainz)
  • Yolanda Lozano (University of Oviedo)
  • Silvia Penati (University of Milano-Bicocca)
  • Gavin Salam (CERN)
  • Marika Taylor (University of Southampton)
  • Andrea Thamm (CERN)
  • Malgorzata Worek (RWTH Aachen University)

This workshop is supported by the CERN-TH Department, University of Milano-Bicocca, ERC Consolidator Grant 772408 "Deconstructing the string landscape" and the Cluster of Excellence PRISMA DFG no. EXC 1098.

The COST Network CA16201 PARTICLEFACE "Unraveling new physics at the LHC through the precision frontier" provides a special grant to support a few PhD students and/or young postdocs working for an institute located in the following countries:  Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom. Eligibility is by location of your institution, not by nationality!  For more information and for submitting your application for the COST grant, please contact Malgorzata Worek (E-mail: worek@physik.rwth-aachen.de). The application deadline for the COST grant is 30 June 2018.

CERN logoERC logoCOST logoUniversità degli Studi di Milano Bicocca logoPRISMA Cluster of Excellence logo


Application Form
  • Adil Belhaj
  • Alessandro Strumia
  • Anagha Vasudevan
  • Andrea Thamm
  • Anna Ceresole
  • Antoine Van Proeyen
  • Bivudutta Mishra
  • Catalano Enrico
  • Dries Seynaeve
  • Eleni Vryonidou
  • Elvira Gamiz
  • farzaneh sheikholeslam
  • Gabriele Honecker
  • Hajar Ebrahim Najafabadi
  • Johan Noldus
  • Julie Moote
  • Karen Yeats
  • Magdalena Kordiaczynska
  • Malgorzata Worek
  • Manya Sahni
  • Marcin Bury
  • Maria Cristina Diamantini
  • Maria Ubiali
  • Marika Taylor
  • Marina Walt
  • Masoumeh Aali-Javanangrouh
  • Masoumeh Aali-Javanangrouh
  • Michael James Baker
  • Niloofar Sharei
  • Oscar Arandes
  • Prado Martín-Moruno
  • Saniya Heeba
  • Silvia Ferrario Ravasio
  • Silvia Nagy
  • Silvia Penati
  • Stefania De Curtis
  • Valentina Forini
  • Yolanda Lozano
  • Yosef Nir
The agenda of this meeting is empty
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now