Advances in Lattice Gauge Theory 2019

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room (CERN)

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room


Show room on map

The calculation of a variety of single-hadron observables, including decay constants and stable-hadron masses, using Lattice QCD, has reached an era of precision with well-controlled systematic uncertainties. This has opened the door to calculations of more complicated observables, including momentum-dependent form factors, hadronic scattering amplitudes and resonance properties, electroweak decay and transition amplitudes and parton distribution functions. The field has also advanced by incorporating subleading corrections to precision observables, in particular strong-isospin breaking and electromagnetic (QED) effects.

Although new calculations are being pursued, the principal challenges remain the same: Systematic uncertainties have to be determined in a reliable way while increasing the statistical significance. This CERN Theory Institute is intended to bring together researchers interested in addressing technical obstacles and in identifying conceptual issues in present-day lattice calculations.

Each week will focus on a broad topic:

  • Week 1: Scattering and spectroscopy
  • Week 2: Form factors, transitions and decays
  • Week 3: QED + QCD

We plan to have two to three talks per day, with plenty of time for discussion. In addition, towards the beginning of each weak we will have one or two overview talks about the week's topic.

The participants will include a list of invited speakers (already contacted) as well as anyone working in the field (or related areas) who would like to attend. If interested, please complete the registration form. Unfortunately space is limited and attendance will be confirmed on a first-come/first-serve basis, with certain exceptions to ensure a diverse group in which the relevant expertise is well-represented. We kindly ask participants to stay for a minimum of one week.

We have set the deadline for consideration to May 1st. 

As a final note to those familiar with the CERN short-term visitor (STV) program: We request that interested participants please do not apply through CERN STV but instead through our registration page.

Organisers: Mattia Bruno (CERN), Anthony Francis (CERN), Patrick Fritzsch (CERN), Maxwell Hansen (CERN), Pilar Hernández (IFIC,CSIC)

Confirmed speakers: C. Alexandrou (U. of Cyprus), J. Bulava (CP3), S. Collins (Regensburg U.), Z. Davoudi (Maryland U.), M. Della Morte (CP3), E. Gámiz (Granada U.), A. Gérardin (DESY), J. Green (DESY), V. Gülpers (U. of Edinburgh), S. Hashimoto (KEK), A. Jüttner (U. of Southampton), A. Patella (Humboldt U.), S. Sharpe (U. of Washington, Seattle), N. Tantalo (Rome 2, Tor Vergata), C. Thomas (Cambridge, UK), D. Wilson (TCD)

  • Aaron Meyer
  • Agostino Patella
  • Alberto Ramos
  • Alexei Bazavov
  • Andreas Juettner
  • Andreas Risch
  • Andrey Kotov
  • Anthony Sebastian Francis
  • Antoni Woss
  • Antonin Portelli
  • Antonio Rago
  • Argia Rubeo
  • Bipasha Chakraborty
  • Christoph Lehner
  • Christopher Thomas
  • Constantia Alexandrou
  • David Wilson
  • Derek Leinweber
  • Elias Kiritsis
  • Elvira Gamiz
  • Fernando Romero-López
  • Finn Stokes
  • Gerardin Antoine
  • Hiroshi Suzuki
  • Isabel Campos Plasencia
  • Jeremy Green
  • John Bulava
  • Jozef Dudek
  • Laurence Cooper
  • Leonardo Giusti
  • Luigi Del Debbio
  • Mattia Bruno
  • Mattia Dalla Brida
  • Maxwell Hansen
  • Michele Della Morte
  • Mikhail Mikhasenko
  • Nazario Tantalo
  • Patrick Fritzsch
  • Pilar Hernandez
  • Sara Collins
  • Shoji Hashimoto
  • Stephen Sharpe
  • Ting-Wai Chiu
  • Tobias Rindlisbacher
  • Vera Guelpers
  • Zohreh Davoudi