ACAT 2019

Steinmatte conference center

Steinmatte conference center

Hotel Allalin, Saas Fee, Switzerland
Federico Carminati (CERN) , Fons Rademakers (CERN)

19th International Workshop on Advanced Computing and Analysis Techniques in Physics Research

The 19th edition of ACAT will bring together experts to explore and confront the boundaries of computing, automated data analysis, and theoretical calculation technologies, in particle and nuclear physics, astronomy and astrophysics, cosmology, accelerator science and beyond. ACAT provides a unique forum where these disciplines overlap with computer science, allowing for the exchange of ideas and the discussion of cutting-edge computing, data analysis and theoretical calculation technologies in fundamental physics research.

There is a fundamental shift occurring in how computing is used in research in general and data analysis in particular. The abundance of inexpensive, powerful, easy to use computing power in the form of CPUs, GPUs, FPGAs, etc., has changed the role of computing in physics research over the last decade. The rise of new techniques, like deep learning, means the changes promise to keep coming. Even more revolutionary approaches, such as Quantum Computing, are now closer to becoming a reality. 

Please join us to explore these future changes, and learn about new algorithms and ideas and trends in scientific computing physics. Most of all, join us for the discussions and the sharing of expertise in the field. 

Empowering the Revolution: Bringing Machine Learning to High Performance Computing

As often has happened in the development of AI, theoretical advances in the domain have opened the door to exceptional perspectives of application in the most diverse fields of science, business and society at large. Today the introduction of Machine (Deep) Learning is no exception, and beyond the hype we can already see that this new family of techniques and approaches may usher a real revolution in various fields. However, as it has happened time and again in the past, we start realizing that one of the limitations of Deep Learning is sheer computing power. While these techniques allow to tackle extremely complex problems on very large amount of data, the computational cost, particularly of the training phase, is rising fast. The introduction of meta-optimizations such as hyper-parameter scans may further enlarge the possibilities of Machine Learning, but this in turn will require substantial improvements in code performance. 

At the same time, High Performance Computing is also in full evolution, offering new solutions and perspectives, both in hardware and in software. In this version of ACAT we would like to focus on how this renewed momentum in the HPC world may provide the necessary power to fulfill the revolutionary promises offered by recent breakthroughs in AI at large and in Machine Learning in particular.

The Venue!

The meeting will take place in the Steinmatte Conference Centre of the Allalin Hotel, situated here in Saas-Fee, Switzerland.

Saas Fee!

Saas-Fee, a resort village in the Swiss Alps near the Italian border, is known for its proximity to mountains more than 4,000m above sea level, or 4-thousanders. It's a gateway to more than 100km of pistes for skiing and snowboarding, plus sledding and toboggan runs. The Mittelallalin Ice Pavilion is a frozen grotto carved into the Fee Glacier. In the summer, the surrounding area draws hikers and rock climbers.

Elevation: 1,800 m

Weather: 1°C, Wind S at 32 km/h, 74% Humidity

Twin towns: Steamboat Springs (USA), Rocca di Cambio (Italy)

More information at 

More Info

Sign up for email notifications here. This list is low traffic and will only get you ACAT conference announcements and general information (for this and future conferences in the ACAT series).

Many people are working together to bring you this conference! The organization page has some details. F. Carminati is chair of the Scientific Program Committee, F.Rademakers is the chair of the Local Organizing Committee. 

For more scientific conferences

Lunches/allergies registration
  • Adrian Alan Pol
  • Aishik Ghosh
  • Alessandra Forti
  • Alexander Belyaev
  • Alexander Hagen
  • Alexander Nozik
  • Alexandr Korobov
  • Alexey Boldyrev
  • Alina Corso Radu
  • Andrea Bocci
  • Andrea Massironi
  • Andreas Sogaard
  • Andrei Gheata
  • Andrei Zarochentsev
  • Andrej Arbuzov
  • Andres Tiko
  • Andrey Ustyuzhanin
  • Andrii Verbytskyi
  • Andy Buckley
  • Anne Cadiou
  • Artem Golovatiuk
  • Artem Maevskiy
  • Artem Ryzhikov
  • Atilim Gunes Baydin
  • Axel Naumann
  • Barthelemy Von Haller
  • Ben Ruijl
  • Benjamin Fischer
  • Carlos Solans Sanchez
  • Charles Leggett
  • Christoph Heidecker
  • Conor Fitzpatrick
  • Constantin Steppa
  • Daniel Hugo Campora Perez
  • Daniel Maitre
  • Daniel Ratner
  • Danilo Jimenez Rezende
  • David Britton
  • David Lange
  • David Lawrence
  • David Rousseau
  • Dayane Oliveira Goncalves
  • Dennis Noll
  • Dirk Krücker
  • Domenico Giordano
  • Doris Yangsoo Kim
  • Dorothea vom Bruch
  • Eckhard Von Torne
  • Edmond Offermann
  • Elise de Doncker
  • Eric Drechsler
  • Etienne Lyard
  • Fabian Klimpel
  • Federico Carminati
  • Federico Lazzari
  • Felix Schuermann
  • Fons Rademakers
  • Francois Lanusse
  • Frank K. Gürkaynak
  • Frederic Alexandre Dreyer
  • Gang Chen
  • Gevy Cao
  • Giuliana Galli Carminati
  • Giuseppe Avolio
  • Gokhan Unel
  • Gordon Watts
  • Gudrun Heinrich
  • Hao Cai
  • Heather Gray
  • Henry Schreiner
  • Hevjin Yarar
  • Igor Kondrashuk
  • Iliana Betsou
  • Ilkay Turk Cakir
  • Isabelle Cherney
  • Jakub Trusina
  • Jean-Philippe Guillet
  • Jean-Roch Vlimant
  • Jennifer Ngadiuba
  • Jerome LAURET
  • Jiawei Cao
  • Jim Pivarski
  • Jingyi Zhao
  • Johan Bregeon
  • Johann Brehmer
  • Jonas Glombitza
  • Joshua Davies
  • Kazuhiro Terao
  • Konstantin Pugachev
  • Kristina Gunne
  • Laura Domine
  • Leo Piilonen
  • Leonid Serkin
  • Linghui Wu
  • Lorenzo Moneta
  • Lu Wang
  • Ludovic Scyboz
  • Luis Miguel Garcia Martin
  • Lukas Alexander Heinrich
  • Makiko Nio
  • Mantas Stankevicius
  • Marcel Rieger
  • Marco Cattaneo
  • Marco Peruzzi
  • Maria Girone
  • Maria Grigoryeva
  • Mario Masciovecchio
  • Marko Petric
  • Martin Ritter
  • Michael Aaron Kagan
  • Michael Bussmann
  • Michael Joseph Morello
  • Michael Poat
  • Michelangelo Preti
  • Miguel Villaplana
  • Mikhail Borodin
  • Milos Lokajicek
  • Mirco Tracolli
  • Monique Werlen Perret-Gallix
  • Narayan Rana
  • Nectarios Benekos
  • Nicola Louise Abraham
  • Nikita Kazeev
  • Niklas Nolte
  • Nobuo Furukawa
  • Noel Aaron Nottbeck
  • Oksana Shadura
  • Oleg Kalashev
  • Oliver Majersky
  • Olmo Cerri
  • Oscar Roberto Chaparro Amaro
  • Oskar Wyszynski
  • Pablo de Castro
  • Paolo Calafiura
  • Patricia Mendez Lorenzo
  • Patrick Bos
  • Petr Bour
  • Philipp Gaspar
  • Pier Paolo Ricci
  • Qi Xu
  • Qiumei Ma
  • Rafal Bielski
  • Rajesh Ranganath
  • Ralf Florian von Cube
  • Renat Sadykov
  • Rene Brun
  • Riccardo Farinelli
  • Sadaf Alam
  • Sebastian Skambraks
  • Sergey Shirobokov
  • Sergey Volkov
  • Simone Francescato
  • Simone Mosciatti
  • Simone Schuchmann
  • Sofia Vallecorsa
  • Soon Yung Jun
  • Soumith Chintala
  • Stanislav Poslavskii
  • Stefano Carrazza
  • Stefano Laporta
  • Stephan Hageboeck
  • Stephen Philip Jones
  • steven prohira
  • Sydney Otten
  • Takahiro Ueda
  • Thomas Alef
  • Thomas Hahn
  • Thomas Naumann
  • Thong Nguyen
  • Tommaso Boccali
  • Tommaso Dorigo
  • Torben Ferber
  • Valentin Hirschi
  • Victor Estrade
  • Victoria Tokareva
  • Vladislav Belavin
  • Walter Hopkins
  • Werner Spolidoro Freund
  • William Sutcliffe
  • Wolfgang Waltenberger
  • Wouter Verkerke
  • Yannik Alexander Rath
  • Yao Zhang
  • Ye Yuan
  • York Schröder
  • Yoshimasa Kurihara
  • Yuka Takahashi
  • Zhanchen Wei
  • Zhenjing Cheng
  • Áron Kripkó